CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia football players Brian Delaney, Matt Gahm and Dillon Reinkensmeyer earned NFF Hampshire Honor Society membership, as announced by the National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame. To earn membership a football student-athlete must maintain a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout his college career. UVA is one of eight ACC teams to place at least one student-athlete to earn the honor.

Other qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include: Being a starter or a significant contributor in the last year of eligibility at an NCAA FBS, FCS, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university; achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout the entire course of undergraduate study; and meeting all NCAA/NAIA-mandated progress toward degree requirements.

Delaney (Chantilly, Va.) leaves UVA No. 3 all-time in program history in points scored kicking with 236 and his 236 career points also ranks No. 6 overall in career points scored in UVA history. His 17-straight made field goals between 2019 and 2020 are a program record. His 45 career field goals rank No. 5 all-time at UVA.

Gahm (Dallas, Texas) appeared in 44 career games with six starts for the Cavaliers. He notched 85 career stops, 13.5 tackles for loss and 7.0 sacks. He made five tackles and notched 1.0 sack in Commonwealth Cup victory over Virginia Tech in 2019. Gahm’s sack was one of three consecutive sacks by Virginia during a key defensive stand with less than a minute left to play.

Reinkensmeyer (Highlands Ranch, Colo.) appeared in 47 career games with 44 starts for the Cavaliers. He enjoyed the feat of  starting at least one game at all five offensive line positions during his career. He is the only FBS player to accomplish this feat in research dating back to the start of the 2010 season through the 2020 season. He left UVA with 21 starts at center, 12 starts at right tackle, seven starts at left guard, two starts at right guard and two starts at left tackle.

UVA has had a Cavalier now earn the honor six years in a row. Nash Griffin, Jordan Mack, Bryce Perkins and Joe Reed earned the honor in 2020. Evan Butts, Lester Coleman and Joe Spaziani earned the honor in 2019. Kurt Benkert and Micah Kiser earned the honor in 2018, while Nicholas Conte, Ryan Santoro and Conner Wingo-Reeves earned the accolade in 2017. Ian Frye was recognized in 2016. Fellow ACC members Boston College, Clemson, Duke, NC State, North Carolina, Pittsburgh, Syracuse and Wake Forest also boast student-athletes that gained membership in 2021.