CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia football players Mandy Alonso, Adeeb Atariwa, Joey Blount, Danny Caracciolo, De’Vante Cross, Tucker Finkelston, Hayden Mitchell and Jelani Woods earned NFF Hampshire Honor Society membership, as announced by the National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame. To earn membership a football student-athlete must maintain a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout his college career. UVA had the most members of any other ACC program.

Other qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include: Being a starter or a significant contributor in the last year of eligibility at an NCAA FBS, FCS, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university; achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout the entire course of undergraduate study; and meeting all NCAA/NAIA-mandated progress toward degree requirements.

A Cavalier has now earned the honor seven years in a row. Brian Delaney, Matt Gahm and Dillon Reinkensmeyer were included in the 2021 membership. Nash Griffin, Jordan Mack, Bryce Perkins and Joe Reed earned the honor in 2020. Evan Butts, Lester Coleman and Joe Spaziani earned the honor in 2019. Kurt Benkert and Micah Kiser earned the honor in 2018, while Nicholas Conte, Ryan Santoro and Conner Wingo-Reeves earned the accolade in 2017. Ian Frye was recognized in 2016.

Fellow ACC members Boston College (1), Clemson (5), Duke (3), Florida State (2), Georgia Tech (1), Louisville (1), Miami (1), NC State (2), Pittsburgh (3), Syracuse (3), Virginia Tech (5), Wake Forest (7) also boast student-athletes that gained membership in 2022.