GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Former Cavalier running back Thomas Jones has been announced as a member of the 2022 Atlantic Coast Conference Football Honors Class today (Nov. 2).

This year’s 14-member group also includes Boston College’s Luke Kuechly, Clemson’s Terry Allen, Duke’s DeVon Edwards, Florida State’s Terrell Buckley, Georgia Tech’s Demaryius Thomas, Louisville’s Bilal Powell, Miami’s Chuck Foreman, North Carolina’s Natrone Means, NC State’s David Amerson, Pitt’s Darrelle Revis, Syracuse’s Donovan McNabb, Virginia Tech’s Michael Vick and Wake Forest’s Ricky Proehl.

The class will be celebrated during the ACC Football Honors program presented by the Charlotte Sports Foundation at the Charlotte Convention Center’s Richardson Ballroom on the evening of Friday, Dec. 2, and during the on-field pregame festivities at the 18th annual Subway ACC Football Championship Game, set for 8 p.m. on Saturday, Dec. 3, at Charlotte’s Bank of America Stadium. ACC Network will air (tape delay) the ACC Football Honors production on Dec. 9 at 7 p.m.

Jones finished his collegiate career in 1999 as the Cavaliers’ all-time leading rusher with 3,998 yards, which still stands as the 10th-best total in ACC history. He set a then-ACC record for single-season rushing with 1,798 yards as senior, while amassing 2,054 yards of total offense.

Jones finished his senior year as a consensus first-team All-American and finished eighth in the 1999 Heisman Trophy voting. He was selected by the Arizona Cardinals with the seventh overall selection in the 2000 NFL draft. Over the course of a 12-year career that included stops in Tampa Bay, Chicago, New York and Kansas City, he rushed for 10,591 yards while scoring 68 touchdowns. Jones was voted to the Pro Bowl following a standout season with the Jets in 2008. He broke the Jets’ franchise record for single-season rushing touchdowns with 14 in 2009.

UVA ACC Legends

Class – Player
2005 – Bill Dudley
2006 – Jim Dombrowski
2007 – Joe Palumbo
2008 – Tiki Barber
2009 – Jim Bakhtiar
2010 – Barry Word
2011 – Chris Slade
2012 – Frank Quayle
2013 – Tom Scott
2014 – George Welsh
2015 – Patrick Kerney
2017 – Bob Davis
2018 – Herman Moore
2019 – Don Majkowski
2021 – Shawn Moore
2022 – Thomas Jones

2016: Due to the change in the host site for the 2016 Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game, no ACC Legends Class was selected.
2020: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, no ACC Legends Class was selected.