Story Links

May 31, 2014

Photo Gallery | Video Highlights | Regatta Central | Results | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

INDIANAPOLIS-The Virginia rowing team advanced two boats to grand finals on the second day of the NCAA Championships Saturday (May 31) on Eagle Creek Park Lake.

“We did not have the outcome we wanted in the Varsity Eight, but are very proud of how the Second Varsity Eight and Varsity Four performed in their semifinals,” UVa head coach Kevin Sauer said. “We have to bring our best tomorrow and leave it all out on the course.”

In the Varsity Eight semifinals, the Cavaliers could not recover after a tough start, placing fourth in a time of 6:35.704. Ohio State (6:28.579), California (6:30.151) and Washington (6:32.284) picked up the qualifying spots for the grand final (places 1-6), while USC and Indiana placed fifth and sixth. Semifinal places 4-6 compete in the petite final (places 7-12).

Virginia was second to Stanford for most of the Second Varsity Eight semi, but the Cavaliers pulled ahead of the Cardinal in the last 500 meters, winning in a time of 6:43.702 to Stanford’s 6:44.395. Cal (6:45.404) also moved on to the grand final, while Michigan, Notre Dame and USC rounded out the race.

In the Varsity Four semi, Virginia and Stanford were within a few feet of each other the entire race and when the Cardinal made a big move just after the halfway point, the Cavaliers stayed right on Stanford’s bow, placing second by less than three-tenths of a second, 7:31.938-7:32.181. Brown was third in 7:33.564, followed by Ohio State, Notre Dame and Princeton.

The NCAA Championships conclude Sunday (June 1). The Cavaliers’ first race will be the V4 grand final at 10:10 a.m. The Second Varsity Eight grand final is scheduled for 10:30 a.m., immediately followed by the Varsity Eight petite final at 10:40 a.m.

Virginia Lineups

Varsity Eight: Coxswain: Sarah Jordan, Stroke: Constanze Duell, 7: Chandler Lally, 6: Georgia Ratcliff, 5: Brandy Herald, 4: Fiona Schlesinger, 3: Lizzy Youngling, 2: Hemingway Benton, Bow: Elle Murray

Second Varsity Eight: Coxswain: Sarah McGovern, Stroke: Ellen Pate, 7: Janey Brennan, 6: Kaitlin Fanikos, 5: Hannah Osborne, 4: Erin Briggs, 3: Sam Casto, 2: Catherine Multari, Bow: Jo Gurman

Varsity Four: Coxswain: Julia Roithmayr, Stroke: Hannah Solis-Cohen, 3: Ella van der Haar, 2: Mackenzi Sherman, Bow: Kaity McCullough

Print Friendly Version