June 23, 2016

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Virginia’s Tessa Dikkers (Pelham, N.Y.) was named ACC Rowing Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the conference announced Thursday (June 23). In addition, Dikkers was joined on the All-ACC Academic Rowing Team by six other UVA rowers.

Dikkers, who graduated with a double major in public policy and leadership and foreign affairs, sat in the important stroke seat of Virginia’s Varsity Eight boat that captured the ACC Rowing title and finished fifth nationally at the NCAA Championships. The UVA Varsity Eight was named ACC Crew of the Year after guiding the Cavaliers to their seventh straight ACC Championship and 16th in 17 years. UVA also posted a to third-place national finish, marking its best finish since winning the national title in 2012.

Dikkers, who was also named a Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) Scholar Athlete for 2015 and 2016, was named to the All-ACC Rowing First Team and to the CRCA Second-Team All-South Region squad. Dikkers was also a member of the 2015 All-ACC Academic Team.

Alice Darry (West Melton, New Zealand), Jo Gurman (Weston, Conn.), Georgia Ratcliff (Falls Church, Va.), Heidi Long (Buckinghamshire, England), Jennifer Reid (Stafford, Va.) and Mackenzi Sherman (Los Alamitos, Calif.) joined Dikkers on the All-ACC Academic Rowing team.

To be nominated for the All-ACC Academic team, student-athletes must have recorded a minimum of a 3.0 grade point average in the winter semester and have maintained a 3.0 career GPA at their respective schools. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Rowing Academic team. The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports.