CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia quarterback Brennan Armstrong was named one of 20 semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien Award on Tuesday (Nov. 9). The honor is annually given out by The Davey O’Brien Foundation which was created in 1977. The National Quarterback Award is the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award and was first issued in 1981.

Armstrong is now on the short list for the Maxwell Award (semifinalist), Davey O’Brien Award (semifinalist), Manning Award (Midseason Watch List) and the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (Top-10 Finalist).

Going into Saturday’s matchup against Notre Dame, Armstrong leads in total offense (3,828) and ranks second in passing yards. His 3,557 yards through the air have eclipsed the program’s single-season record in just nine games. He is responsible for 34 touchdowns this season and his 27 passing TDs are one shy of matching Matt Schaub’s single-season mark set in 2002.

Armstrong has thrown a touchdown pass in a school-record 15-straight games dating back to last season. His 554 passing yards against North Carolina on Sept. 18 are the most by a FBS quarterback this season and the most ever by a UVA quarterback. He has accumulated 300 or more passing yards in eight of the nine games this season and went over the 400-yard mark four times, also program records.

Armstrong has also been a threat on the ground rushing for 271 yards and seven touchdowns. He’s posted rushing performances of 99 and 94 in the past two games. His 45-yard scamper against Georgia Tech (Oct. 23) was the second longest by a UVA rusher this season.

The next step in the process will be to select the award’s three finalists based on voting from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee as well as the second round of the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, which will take place on the award’s three social media accounts—InstagramTwitter and Facebook. The top five vote getters on each platform will receive bonus committee member ballots which will be added to the votes cast by the National Selection Committee.

To participate in the Fan Vote, fans must like the original Davey O’Brien Award post highlighting the quarterback. Each round of the selection process will offer two one-week voting periods for fans.

The three finalists will be tabbed on Tuesday, Nov. 23. The winner will be announced live on Thursday, Dec. 9 on The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.