Story Links

Dec. 8, 2004

WACO, Texas – University of Virginia head football coach Al Groh has been tabbed the American Football Coaches Association’s 2004 Region 1 Coach of the Year, the AFCA announced on Wednesday.

Joining Groh as regional winners in Division I-A are Auburn’s Tommy Tuberville (Region 2), Wisconsin’s Barry Alvarez (Region 3), Texas-El Paso’s Mike Price (Region 4), and Utah’s Urban Meyer (Region 5).

“What makes this award so special is that this is the only coach of the year award voted on exclusively by the coaches themselves,” AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff said. “The winners are selected by the coaches they compete with and against on a daily basis.”

In his fourth season at Virginia, Groh led the squad to an 8-3 overall record and 5-3 mark in the ACC this fall. He’s also produced All-Americans Elton Brown and Heath Miller as well as eight All-ACC honorees. The Cavaliers, which led the ACC in total offense, will participate in their third consecutive bowl game on Dec. 27 against Fresno State.

The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association’s four divisions: I-A, I-AA, Division II (NCAA Division II and NAIA schools) and Division III. The winners are selected by active members of the Association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions.

The 2004 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the AFCA Coach of the Year Dinner at the 2005 AFCA Convention in Louisville, Ky. The dinner is scheduled for January 11.

The AFCA will announce its four National Coach of the Year winners at the 2005 AFCA Convention in Louisville. All head coaches who were eligible for regional honors are eligible for national honors as well.

Virginia travels to Boise, Idaho, to face Fresno State in the MPC Computers Bowl. Kickoff is set for Noon MST (2 p.m. EST) on Dec. 27 on ESPN.

Print Friendly Version