Story Links

Retired Numbers & Retired Jerseys

Retired Numbers
Six Virginia players have had their uniform numbers retired and those numbers will not be worn again. Those numbers honor the most decorated players in the program’s history, including Jim Dombrowski (73), Bill Dudley (35), Gene Edmonds (97), Shawn Moore (12), Joe Palumbo (48) and Frank Quayle (24).

Shawn Moore

Martinsville, Va.

Shawn Moore (1988-90) quarterbacked UVa to two New Year’s Day Bowl appearances and a share of the school’s first-ever ACC championship. Virginia’s all-time passing and total offense leader set over 30 combined NCAA, conference and school records. He led Virginia to the USF&G Sugar Bowl as well as a No. 1 ranking in the nation (Associated Press) for three consecutive weeks. Moore became the first ACC quarterback to lead the nation in passing efficiency (160.7) in 1990 while completing 144 of 241 passes for 2,262 yards and 21 touchdowns. Moore finished fourth in balloting for the 1990 Heisman Trophy. As a senior he was a first-team All-American and ACC Player of the Year

Frank Quayle
Garden City, N.Y.

Frank Quayle established himself as Virginia’s most versatile performer since the days of “Bullet” Bill Dudley. In addition to his career rushing total of 2,695 yards, the tailback caught 83 passes for 1,145 yards. He was named ACC Player of the Year and the conference’s overall Athlete of the Year in 1968 after rushing 175 times for 1,213 yards and catching 30 passes for 426 yards. During his three seasons in the Cavalier backfield (1966-68), Virginia went 16-14, including a 7-3 mark in 1968.

Bill Dudley

Bluefield, Va.

As a 19-year-old senior in 1941, “Bullet” Bill Dudley led Virginia to a sparkling 8-1 record and had a hand in 206 of the 279 points that the Cavaliers scored. A great runner, passer, kicker and defensive player, he led the nation that year in points scored (134) and finished second nationally in total offense (1,824 yards). A member of the National Football Foundation’s College Football Hall of Fame and the Pro Football Hall of Fame, Dudley became the first Cavalier to have his number retired. He earned All-America honors at halfback in 1941 and finished fifth in the 1941 Heisman balloting. He was selected by the Pittsburgh Steelers in 1942 as the NFL’s number-one draft choice.

Joe Palumbo

Beaver, Pa.

During Joe Palumbo’s three varsity seasons (1949-51), Virginia posted a 23-5 mark and recorded seven shutouts. He was a first-team All-America selection that season. He was a three-time All-State selection. In 1951, Palumbo received the Outstanding Defensive Lineman Award from the Touchdown Club of Washington, D.C., was named the state of Virginia’s Athlete of the Year, and participated in the Blue-Gray All-Star Game. Palumbo was inducted into the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame in August of 1999.

Jim Dombrowski
Williamsville, N.Y.

Jim Dombrowski anchored Virginia’s offensive line for four straight seasons (1982-85) and finished his career as UVa’s first-ever unanimous All-American. The two-time winner of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy as the ACC’s best blocker, he helped lead UVa to three straight winning seasons and a 27-24 victory over Purdue in the 1984 Peach Bowl. He received All-America honors following Virginia’s 6-5 season in 1985. Dombrowski also went on to a successful NFL career. He was selected for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2008.

Gene Edmonds
Hampton, Va.

Gene Edmonds was a halfback on winning Cavalier teams in 1948 and 1949. He was killed in a tragic automobile accident near Scott Stadium on Nov. 20, 1949, hours after scoring Virginia’s second touchdown in a 28-14 loss to Tulane. Edmonds’ jersey number (97) was retired as a memorial by Cavalier head coach Art Guepe and UVa Athletic Director Norton Pritchett.

Retired Jerseys

Jersey retirement honors Virginia players who have significantly impacted the program. Individuals recognized in this way will have their jerseys retired, but their number will remain active.

34 Jim Bakhtiar
21 Tiki Barber
10 Will Brice
12 Bob Davis
66 Mark Dixon
58 Patrick Kerney
42 Terry Kirby
91 Chris Long
87 Herman Moore
87 John Papit
3 Anthony Poindexter
72 Ray Roberts
56 Ray Savage
65 Tom Scott
85 Chris Slade

Print Friendly Version