Story Links

ACC Honors
ACC Champions

1989 – Co-Champions (w/Duke)
1995 – Co-Champions (w/Florida State)

ACC Player of the Year
1966 – Bob Davis, QB
1968 – Frank Quayle, TB
1984 – Barry Word, TB
1989 – Shawn Moore, QB (UPI Offensive MVP)
1990 – Shawn Moore, QB
1991 – Matt Blundin, QB
1996 – Tiki Barber, TB (Offensive MVP, Overall MVP)
1998 – Anthony Poindexter (Defensive MVP)
2002 – Matt Schaub (Offensive MVP, Overall MVP)
2007 – Chris Long (Defensive MVP)

ACC Coach of the Year
1961 – Bill Elias
1968 – George Blackburn
1983 – George Welsh
1984 – George Welsh
1989 – George Welsh (UPI)
1991 – George Welsh
1995 – George Welsh
2002 – Al Groh
2007 – Al Groh
2011 – Mike London

ACC Rookie of the Year
1984 – John Ford, WR
1994 – Ronde Barber, DB

Tatum Award
The James E. Tatum Award, is given annually in memory of the late Jim Tatum to the ACC’s top senior student-athlete among the league’s football players. Tatum, a two-time ACC Coach of the Year, coached in the fifties at both Maryland and North Carolina and believed strongly in the concept of the student-athlete.

1993 – Tom Burns
1997 – Stephen Phelan
1999 – Noel LaMontagne
2007 – Tom Santi

Brian Piccolo Award Winners
One of Wake Forest’s most famed athletes, Brian Piccolo was an All-America selection in 1964 after leading the nation in rushing and scoring. Piccolo played professionally for the Chicago Bears for four seasons before his career came to an end after he was stricken by cancer in 1970. The Brian Piccolo Award was established in 1970 by the league’s head football coaches to honor the ACC’s most courageous football player.

1975 – Scott Gardner
1994 – Chris Harrison
1998 – Anthony Poindexter
2005 – Ryan Best

Jacobs Blocking Trophy
The Jacobs Blocking Trophy is awarded annually by William and Hugh Jacobs of Clinton, S.C., to the player voted the most outstanding blocker in the Atlantic Coast Conference in a poll of conference coaches. The trophy is given in memory of William P. Jacobs, who served as president of Presbyterian College from 1935 to 1945, by his sons. The Jacobs Blocking Trophy was first awarded in 1953.

1968-Greg Shelly, offensive tackle
1970-Dan Ryczek, center
1984-Jim Dombrowski, offensive tackle
1985-Jim Dombrowski, offensive tackle
1990-Ray Roberts, offensive tackle
1991-Ray Roberts, offensive tackle
1993-Mark Dixon, offensive guard
1999-John St. Clair, center
2003- Elton Brown, guard
2004- Elton Brown, guard
2008 – Eugene Monroe, tackle

Print Friendly Version