Story Links

Jan. 23, 2014

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The Atlantic Coast Conference announced its 10th annual class of ACC Women’s Basketball Legends Thursday (Jan. 23) with former Cavalier DeMya Walker (1995-99) being selected as Virginia’s honoree.

The Legends will be honored during the 2014 ACC Women’s Basketball Tournament, which will be held March 5-9 at the Greensboro Coliseum, at the annual ACC Women’s Basketball Legends’ Luncheon on Saturday, March 8, at 1 p.m. They will also be introduced to the Coliseum crowd at halftime of the first semifinal game that evening. The ACC Women’s Basketball Legends program honors both players and coaches from each of the ACC’s 15 schools who have contributed to the league’s rich tradition.

Walker was an honorable mention All-American in her senior season with the Cavaliers after leading the team in scoring, rebounding, field goal percentage and blocked shots. The two-time Richmond Times-Dispatch All-State honoree ended her Virginia career with 1,583 points and a school-record 330 blocked shots, which at the time ranked 12th in the NCAA record book. Walker also holds the Virginia record for career field goal percentage, making 55.7 percent of her shots during her four-year career. In 1999, Walker played for a professional basketball team in Italy, before returning from overseas to play for the WNBA’s Portland Fire (2000-02), Sacramento Monarchs (2003-09), Connecticut Sun (2010-2011), Washington Mystics (2011) and the New York Liberty (2012). Walker graduated with a degree in government.

Included in this year’s class are 13 former-student-athletes and two former head coaches who represent four decades of women’s basketball. Below is a complete list of this year’s Legends, and the accolades from their playing and coaching careers.

Tickets to the Legends Lunch are priced at $35 each and can be obtained by calling 1-336-369-4673. Quantities are limited.

2014 ACC Women’s Basketball Tournament Legends Roster
Becky Gottstein Holden, Boston College 1998-2003
Bobbie Mims Felder, Clemson, 1976-80
Michele Van Gorp, Duke, 1997-99
Alicia “Ice” Gladden, Florida State, 2003-07
Agnus Berenato, Georgia Tech, 1989-2003
Laura Harper, Maryland, 2004-08
Lin Dunn, Miami, 1978-87
Marion Jones, North Carolina, 1993-95, 97
Sharon Manning, NC State, 1987-91
Ruth Riley, Notre Dame, 1997-01
Jennifer Bruce, Pittsburgh, 1981-85
Sue Ludwig, Syracuse, 1984-88
DeMya Walker, Virginia, 1995-99
Carrie Mason, Virginia Tech, 2002-06
Lisa Dodd, Wake Forest, 1986-91

UVa’s All-Time ACC Legends

2005 - Wendy Palmer2006 - Cathy Grimes-Miller2007 - Dena Evans2008 - Heather Burge Quella2009 - Val Ackerman2010 - Jenny Boucek2011 - Nancy Mayer Bates2012 - Siedah Williams2013 - Daphne Hawkins2014 - DeMya Walker 
Print Friendly Version