Story Links

Final Results | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

May 13, 2016

CLEMSON, S.C. – No. 5 Virginia won all five of its heats on the first day of the ACC Rowing Championship Friday (May 13) evening on Lake Hartwell at Clemson.

The Cavaliers won their respective heats in the Third Varsity Eight, Second Varsity Four, Varsity Four, Second Varsity Eight and Varsity Eight.

UVA will seek its seventh straight ACC Rowing championship on Saturday (May 14) as the top seed in all five grand finals. The Cavaliers have captured 59 of the previous 65 events at the conference championship. UVA has also raced to ACC titles in 15 of the 16 ACC championship regattas.

On Friday, UVA posted a time of 6:53.931 in the Third Varsity Eight, defeating runner-up Notre Dame (7:09.976) by more than 16 seconds.

The Cavaliers (7:36.203) raced past the second-place Fighting Irish (7:45.033) by more than eight seconds in the Second Varsity Four.

Virginia cruised to a win in the Varsity Four, posting a time of 7:18.413 to defeat runner-up Louisville (7:34.438).

UVA’s Second Varsity Eight defeated runner-up Notre Dame 6:32.271-6:41.253, and the Varsity Eight concluded the racing by out-distancing runner-up Duke 6:21.117-6:32.803.

The heats were held on a sunny evening, with temperatures in the low 80s, with a north to northwest wind gusting from three to nine miles per hour.

“We won all the heats which was good, but I think across the board there’s more,” Virginia head coach Kevin Sauer said. “I think that’s what heats are about. You race and you race really hard to find out what else is there. We talked to the crews and we’re looking for more tomorrow during the finals.”

The ACC Rowing Championship concludes Saturday morning beginning at 8:05 a.m. with the Petite Final of the Varsity Eight race. The ACC Championship will be streamed live on ESPN3.

Virginia Lineups

Varsity Eight
Coxswain: Colette Lucas-Conwell; Stroke: Tessa Dikkers; 7-Seat: Georgia Ratcliff; 6-Seat: Eliza Spilsbury; 5-Seat: Heidi Long; 4-Seat: Erin Briggs; 3-Seat: Jennifer Reid; 2-Seat: Alice Darry; Bow: Sam Casto

Second Varsity Eight
Coxswain: Izzi Weiss; Stroke: Ellen Pate; 7-Seat: Marijane Brennan; 6-Seat: Allie Nicholson; 5-Seat: Jane Hudson; 4-Seat: Maxime Lubbers; 3-Seat: Chelsea Adams; 2-Seat: Mackenzi Sherman; Bow: Hannah Solis-Cohen

Third Varsity Eight
Coxswain: Melody Gordon; Stroke: Lyndsay Martini; 7-Seat: Marissa Patrick; 6-Seat: Eliza Daniels; 5-Seat: Madelyn Clark; 4-Seat: Dana Lueker; 3-Seat: Ellie Stewart; 2-Seat: Kameryn Corcoran; Bow: Mary Beth Greer

Varsity Four
Coxswain: Rachel Dick; Stroke: Taylor Leonard; 3-Seat: Jo Gurman; 2-Seat: Morgan Rosts; Bow: Karen Schulte

Second Varsity Four
Coxswain: Adi Hendlin; Stroke: Mackenzie King; 3-Seat: Georgia Gray; 2-Seat: Grace Tuttle; Bow: Mackenzie Springer

Print Friendly Version