Live Results | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

May 27, 2016

GOLD RIVER, Calif. – No. 3 Virginia advanced all three boats to the semifinals on the first day of the NCAA Rowing Championships Friday (May 27) on Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif.

The Cavaliers Varsity Four posted the top time in the heats and the Varsity Eight and Second Varsity Eight each placed second in its respective heats to cap first-day action for the Cavaliers.

“The fact that we advanced all three boats into the semifinals is good,” UVA head coach Kevin Sauer said. “The Varsity Four did a great job winning its heat and we added two second-place finishes. We need to find a little more speed between now and the semifinals because it’s a different race tomorrow. We’re looking forward to the semifinals, and we checked that box today.”

UVA’s Varsity Four trailed Michigan by several seats after 1,000 meters, but rallied to win the heat with a time of 7:17.117. The Wolverines finished second at 7:24.623 followed by Princeton (7:36.041), Syracuse (7:38.819), Navy (7:57.447) and Jacksonville.

The Cavalier Varsity Eight finished second in its heat with a time of 6:21.565. Princeton won the heat with a time of 6:20.824. Washington (6:25.645) placed third followed by Washington State (6:41.118), Rhode Island (6:55.667) and Navy (7:03.525).

UVA’s Second Varsity Eight placed second in its heat behind Washington (6:30.473) with a time of 6:35.952. Indiana (6:43.718), Washington State (6:47.174), Rhode Island (7:06.731) and Central Florida (7:13.100) rounded out the top six.

NCAA championship action continues Saturday (May 28) with the semifinals beginning at 11:12 a.m. ET. Virginia’s first race will be the Varsity Eight’s semifinal at 11:36 a.m. The top three boats from each semifinal advance to the grand finals on Sunday (May 29).

Virginia Lineups – Friday, May 27, 2016
Varsity Eight
Coxswain: Colette Lucas-Conwell; Stroke: Tessa Dikkers; 7-Seat: Georgia Ratcliff; 6-Seat: Eliza Spilsbury; 5-Seat: Heidi Long; 4-Seat: Erin Briggs; 3-Seat: Jennifer Reid; 2-Seat: Alice Darry; Bow: Sam Casto

Second Varsity Eight
Coxswain: Izzi Weiss; Stroke: Ellen Pate; 7-Seat: Marijane Brennan; 6-Seat: Allie Nicholson; 5-Seat: Jane Hudson; 4-Seat: Maxime Lubbers; 3-Seat: Chelsea Adams; 2-Seat: Mackenzi Sherman; Bow: Hannah Solis-Cohen

Varsity Four
Coxswain: Rachel Dick; Stroke: Karen Schulte; 3-Seat: Taylor Leonard; 2-Seat: Morgan Rosts; Bow: Jo Gurman