Virginia Master Plan

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia’s Mamadi Diakite (Conakry, Guinea) and Kihei Clark (Woodland Hills, Calif.) earned All-ACC honors, the league announced on Monday (March 9).
Diakite was named to the All-ACC second team and All-ACC defensive team, while Clark was named to the All-ACC third team. In addition, Braxton Key (Charlotte, N.C.) earned All-ACC honorable mention.
Diakite anchors UVA’s top-ranked scoring defense that yields 52.4 points per game. He ranks eighth in the ACC in blocks (1.3), 11th in defensive rebounds (5.2), 13th in scoring (13.7) and 15th in free throw percentage (75.4) and rebounding (6.8). He has recorded three double-doubles and has reached double figures in 26 contests. Diakite was named ACC Player of the Week on Feb. 17.
Clark is averaging career highs in points (10.8), assists (5.9) and rebounds (4.2). Clark ranks first in the ACC in minutes (37.1), second in free throw percentage (87.6), third in assists (5.9) and ninth in assist-to-turnover ratio (1.7). He has recorded nine games of at least 10 points, five rebounds and five assists, and has handed out 10 or more assists in three contests.
Key is averaging 9.8 points and a team-high 7.4 rebounds. He has scored 1,070 points and grabbed 730 rebounds during his four-year career, which includes two years at Alabama.
Vernon Carey (Duke), Jordan Nwora (Louisville), John Mooney (Notre Dame) and Elijah Hughes (Syracuse) joined ACC Player of the Year Tre Jones (Duke) on the All-ACC first team.
Joining Diakite on the second team were Devin Vassell (Florida State), Garrison Brooks (North Carolina), Trent Forrest (Florida State) and Markell Johnson (NC State).
Clark is joined on the third team by Jose Alvarado (Georgia Tech), Aamir Simms (Clemson), Cole Anthony (North Carolina) and Olivier Sarr (Wake Forest).
Diakite joined James Banks III (Georgia Tech), Steffon Mitchell (Boston College), Forrest (Florida State) and ACC Defensive Player of the Year Tre Jones (Duke) on the All-ACC defensive team.

No. 2 seed Virginia (23-7) plays the winner of No. 7 seed Notre Dame (19-12) and No. 10 seed Boston College (13-18) in the quarterfinals of the 67th annual ACC Tournament on Thursday, March 12 at 7 p.m.
2020 All-ACC Team
First Team
Vernon Carey Jr., Duke, 367
Jordan Nwora, Louisville, 359
John Mooney, Notre Dame, 351
Tre Jones, Duke, 348
Elijah Hughes, Syracuse, 305
Second Team
Mamadi Diakite, Virginia, 234
Devin Vassell, Florida State, 212
Garrison Brooks, North Carolina, 209
Trent Forrest, Florida State, 200
Markell Johnson, NC State, 101
Third Team
Kihei Clark, Virginia, 98
Jose Alvarado, Georgia Tech, 87
Aamir Simms, Clemson, 79
Cole Anthony, North Carolina, 69
Olivier Sarr, Wake Forest, 63
Honorable Mention
Landers Nolley II, Virginia Tech, 58
Michael Devoe, Georgia Tech, 48
Brandon Childress, Wake Forest 44
Chris Lykes, Miami, 32
M.J. Walker, Florida State, 22
Braxton Key, Virginia, 16
Dwayne Sutton, Louisville 15
Steffon Mitchell, Boston College, 11
ACC Player of the Year
Tre Jones, Duke, 34
Jordan Nwora, Louisville, 17
John Mooney, Notre Dame, 11
Elijah Hughes, Syracuse, 7
Trent Forrest, Florida State, 4
Mamadi Diakite, Virginia 2
Freshman of the Year
Vernon Carey Jr., Duke, 70
Landers Nolley II, Virginia Tech, 2
Cole Anthony, North Carolina, 2
Patrick Williams, Florida State, 1
All-Defensive Team
Tre Jones, Duke, 64
Mamadi Diakite, Virginia, 55
Trent Forrest, Florida State, 55
James Banks III, Georgia Tech, 34
Steffon Mitchell, Boston College, 30
All-Freshman Team
Vernon Carey Jr., Duke, 75
Cole Anthony, North Carolina, 55
Landers Nolley II, Virginia Tech, 54
Cassius Stanley, Duke, 36
Patrick Williams, Florida State, 29
Coach of the Year
Leonard Hamilton, Florida State, 62
Tony Bennett, Virginia, 12
Chris Mack, Louisville, 1
Defensive Player of the Year
Tre Jones, Duke, 45
Trent Forrest, Florida State, 18
Steffon Mitchell, Boston College, 8
Kihei Clark, Virginia, 3
Manny Bates, NC State, 1
Most Improved Player
Garrison Brooks, North Carolina, 17
Olivier Sarr, Wake Forest, 16
Devin Vassell, Florida State, 16
Buddy Boeheim, Syracuse, 10
Aamir Simms, Clemson, 6
Moses Wright, Georgia Tech, 6
Prentiss Hubb, Notre Dame, 2
DJ Funderburk, NC State, 1
Jay Huff, Virginia, 1
Sixth Man of the Year
Patrick Williams, Florida State, 35
Malik Williams, Louisville, 28
Dane Goodwin, Notre Dame, 9
Isaiah Wong, Miami, 3