CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia field hockey rising junior Jans Croon has been named to Team USA’s 10-player roster for the inaugural 2023 Hockey5s Pan American Cups (PAC), to be held June 4-11 at the Mona Hockey Field in Kingston, Jamaica.

“Hockey5s is a fast, fun and free-flowing game that challenges athletes to think creatively and respond dynamically to the situations presented on the field,” said Rachel Dawson, women’s Hockey5s Head Coach. “It requires constant problem-solving, alertness, robust physicality and precise execution. It was great to see the athletes embrace the new format with a sense of curiosity and desire to learn, innovate and compete. We’ve selected a strong group who are excited for the opportunity to compete in the inaugural Hockey5s Pan American Cup.”

The athletes chosen to participate in this 2024 Hockey5s World Cup qualifier were selected after a training camp down at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina.

The squad for the Hockey5s Pan American Cup includes a few veteran athletes from the USWNT, joined by a few new faces to the international scene. These selected athletes will be the first to represent the USWNT at a Hockey5s World Cup qualifier.

Croon has been a member of the US U21 team, most recently earning a gold medal at the Pan Am Cup, earning the team a place in the upcoming Junior World Cup.

The team will be led by Dawson and assisted by Melissa Gonzalez. Cheree Iadevaia will join the staff as physiologist.

The Hockey5s PAC is a continental qualifier, organized by the Pan American Hockey Federation (PAHF), for the inaugural FIH Hockey5s World Cup, which is slated for January 2023 in Muscat, Oman. The top three men’s and women’s teams at this qualifier will be eligible for the FIH Hockey5s World Cup. So far, Belgium, Poland and The Netherlands have qualified at the EuroHockey5s Championship, while Egypt, Kenya and Nigeria qualified at the Africa Hockey5s World Cup Qualifier. As host, Oman will also have a spot. After the Hockey5s PAC, the Oceania and Asia qualifying events will determine the remaining participating teams.


Carter Ayars (Wilmington, Del.), Abigail Burnett (Zionsville, Pa.), Lora Clarke (Shaker Heights, Ohio), Jans Croon (Manhattan Beach, Calif.), Charlotte De Vries (Malvern, Pa.), Nathalie Friedman (Phoenix, Md.), Linnea Gonzales (Bel Air, Md.), Natalie Konerth (Huntingtown, Md.), Kealsie Robles (Seaford, Va.), Annabel Skubisz (Houston, Texas)

The three reserves are Ava Moore (Southampton, N.J.), Mia Schoenbeck (Lagrange, Ky.), and goalkeeper Ellie Todd (Wellesley, Mass.).