CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va.  – The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today (June 5) the names on the 2024 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. They include 78 players and nine coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 101 players and 32 coaches from the divisional ranks.

For the second consecutive year, former Virginia standout wide receiver Herman Moore is on the ballot.

Moore played wide receiver at Virginia from 1988 to 1990. During those three seasons, he caught 114 passes for 2,504 yards and 27 touchdowns. Moore holds the NCAA record for highest average gain per reception (22.0) with a minimum of 105 catches. In 1990, he was a consensus first-team All-American and placed sixth in the voting for the Heisman Trophy.

A native of Danville, Va., he played at George Washington High School. Moore played 12 years in the NFL. In his 11 seasons with the Detroit Lions, he caught 670 passes for 9,174 yards and 62 touchdowns. He was the Lions’ first-round draft pick in 1991 and the 10th overall selection in the draft. He was a four-time All-Pro selection and chosen for the Lions’ 75th Anniversary Team and Detroit’s All-Time Team.

In 2010, Moore has inducted into both the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame and the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame. His No. 87 jersey was retired by Virginia for his significant impact on the program.

A total of five former Cavalier players have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. The most recent inductee was All-America safety Anthony Poindexter, who was a member of the 2020 class. UVA’s other inductees include (class): Bill Dudley (1956), Tom Scott (1979), Joe Palumbo (1999) and Jim Dombrowski (2008). Former Cavalier head coaches inducted into the Hall include Earle “Greasy” Neale (1967), Frank Murray (1983) and George Welsh (2004).

The announcement of the 2024 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be made in January 2024. During the 2024 season, each member of the Hall of Fame Class will be honored on the field at his respective school with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments. The formal induction ceremony will follow on Dec. 10, 2024, during the 66th NFF Annual Awards Dinner Presented by Las Vegas.

The Hall of Fame ballot has been submitted to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers. Their votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF’s Honors Court, which will deliberate and select the class. The Honors Court, chaired by NFF Board Member and College Football Hall of Famer Archie Griffin from Ohio State, includes an elite and geographically diverse pool of athletic administrators, Hall of Famers and members of the media.

Voting is open until June 30.

The criteria for Hall of Fame consideration include:

• First and foremost, a player must have received first-team All-America recognition by a selector that is recognized by the NCAA and utilized to comprise its consensus All-America teams.

• A player becomes eligible for consideration by the Foundation’s Honors Courts 10 full seasons after his final year of intercollegiate football played.

• While each nominee’s football achievements in college are of prime consideration, his post-football record as a citizen is also weighed. He must have proven himself worthy as a citizen, carrying the ideals of football forward into his relations with his community. Consideration may also be given for academic honors and whether the candidate earned a college degree.

• Players must have played their last year of intercollegiate football within the last 50 years. For example, to be eligible for the 2024 ballot, the player must have played his last year in 1974 or thereafter. In addition, players who are playing professionally and coaches who are coaching on the professional level are not eligible until after they retire.

• A coach becomes eligible three full seasons after retirement or immediately following retirement, provided he is at least 70 years of age. Active coaches become eligible at 75 years of age. He must have been a head football coach for a minimum of 10 years and coached at least 100 games with a .600 winning percentage.

• Nominations may only be submitted by the current athletics director, head coach or sports information director (SID) of a candidate’s collegiate institution. Nominations may also be submitted by the president/executive director of a dues-paying chapter of the National Football Foundation.

Once nominated for consideration, all FBS player candidates are submitted to one of eight District Screening Committees, depending on their school’s geographic location, which conducts a vote to determine who will appear on the ballot and represent their respective districts. Each year, approximately 15 candidates, who are not selected for the Hall of Fame but received significant votes in the final selection, will be named automatic holdovers and will bypass the district screening process and automatically appear on the ballot the following year. Additionally, the Veterans Committee may make recommendations to the Honors Court for exceptions that allow for the induction of players who played more than 50 years ago. The Honors Court annually reviews the Hall of Fame criteria to ensure a fair and streamlined process.

Of the 5.62 million individuals who have played college football since Princeton first battled Rutgers on Nov. 6, 1869, only 1,074 players have earned induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, or less than two one-hundredths of a percent (.02%) of those who have played the game during the past 153 seasons. From the coaching ranks, 230 individuals have achieved Hall of Fame distinction.