Story Links

November 11, 1998

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Three University of Virginia men’s soccer players were named first-team All-Atlantic Coast Conference on Wednesday and two others picked up second-team honors.

Sophomore forward Chris Albright, senior defender Matt Chulis and sophomore midfielder Jason Moore were all tabbed first-team All-ACC. Senior midfielder Sam Franklin and senior goalkeeper Brock Yetso were both placed on the second team.

Albright, a second-team selection last season, leads the team with 18 goals and 38 points. He ranks ninth nationally with 1.00 goals per game and is just five goals shy of A.J. Wood’s school record for goals in a season of 23 set in 1994.

Chulis has led the Cavalier defense to eight shutouts this season, including each of the last two games. Moore is second on the team with seven assists, including three game-winners.

Sam Franklin, a fifth-year senior from Arlington, Va., has netted four goals this season. All four were game-winners, including his blast from 20 yards in Saturday’s 1-0 victory over Ohio State. Yetso has posted six shutouts this autumn and has not been scored upon in his last 229 minutes, 57 seconds in goal.

Virginia joined Clemson as the only teams to have three representatives on the first team. UVa’s five total honorees was second only to the Tigers six. Clemson’s Wojtek Krakowiakwas named ACC Player of the Year, while his coach, Trevor Adair, picked up coach of the year honors. North Carolina’s Chris Carrieri was dubbed ACC Rookie of the Year.

The Cavaliers enter this weekend’s ACC Tournament in Winston-Salem, N.C., as the No. 2 seed. Virginia will take on seventh-seeded North Carolina State in the quarterfinals Thursday at 5:30 p.m.

1998 Men’s Soccer All-Atlantic Coast Conference Team

First Team
Chris Albright, F, Virginia
Keith Beach, M, Maryland
Josh Campbell, GK, Clemson
Matt Chulis, D, Virginia
Sergei Daniv, M, Wake Forest
Chad Evans, D, Wake Forest
Jay Heaps, M, Duke
Wojtek Krakowiak, F, Clemson
Mark Lisi, M, Clemson
Jason Moore, M, Virginia
Taylor Twellman, F, Maryland

Second Team
Shaker Asad, M, North Carolina State
Kyle Bachmeier, M, Wake Forest
Jeff Bilyk, M, Clemson
Scott Bower, F, Clemson
Chris Carrieri, F, North Carolina
Sam Franklin, M, Virginia
Troy Garner, F, Duke
Mike Potempa, D, Clemson
Robert Russell, M, Duke
Evan Whitfield, D, Duke
Brock Yetso, GK, Virginia

Player of the Year: Wojtek Krakowiak, Clemson
Rookie of the Year: Chris Carrieri, North Carolina
Coach of the Year: Trevor Adair, Clemson

Print Friendly Version