Story Links

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. Five members of the Virginia women’s soccer team were named All-ACC league officials announced Tuesday. Three of those players were first team selections, including defender Becky Sauerbrunn (St. Louis, Mo.), who was named ACC Defensive Player of the Year.

Sauerbrunn has anchored a defensive group this season that leads the nation in goals against average and shutout percentage. The Cavaliers have posted 13 shutouts, one shy of the school record, allowing just six goals all year. In addition, Sauerbrunn has a goal and an assist this season. Her selection to the All-ACC squad is the fourth of her career, including her second first-team All-ACC honor. She is the second Cavalier to be named ACC Defensive Player of the Year (Sarah Huffman, 2004).

Joining Sauerbrunn on the first team are junior defender Nikki Krzysik (Clifton, N.J.) and freshman midfielder Sinead Farrelly (Havertown, Pa.). Krzysik earns her second consecutive first-team selection after starting every game on the UVa backline and posting a career-high two goals and three assists. Farrelly becomes the first Cavalier freshman since Angela Hucles in 1996 to earn first-team All-ACC honors. She has five goals and four assists her rookie campaign. Farrelly was also named to the ACC All-Freshman team.

Garnering second-team honors are senior forward Shannon Foley (Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif.) and redshirt freshman goalkeeper Chantel Jones (Midlothian, Va.). Foley earns All-ACC honors for the second time as she leads in the team in goals (8), assists (8), and points (24) this year. Jones leads the league in shutouts (11) and is the national leader in goals against average (0.317).

Virginia led all conference schools with five All-ACC selections. The five honorees ties the school record for a season set in 1996 and matched in 2004.

The Cavaliers (11-3-4, 5-2-3 ACC) are the No. 4 seed for this week’s ACC Tournament at the Disney Wide World of Sports Complex. Virginia opens play against No. 5 seed Miami on Wednesday. Game time for the quarterfinal matchup is 2:30 p.m. and the game will be broadcast live online by ACC Select.

Print Friendly Version