Story Links

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Virginia guard Sean Singletary (Philadelphia, Pa.) is one of 10 finalists for the men’s 2007-08 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. The award is presented annually to an NCAA Division I male and female senior basketball player who excel both on and off the court.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the award was launched during the 2001-02 season in response to the trend of college basketball players leaving college early to turn professional. Ten finalists in both the men’s and women’s division were selected from a list of 30 candidates based on personal qualities that define a complete student-athlete. The four primary areas of criteria include: classroom, community, character and competition.

The other men’s finalists are: Jaycee Carroll of Utah State, Shan Foster of Vanderbilt, A.J. Graves of Butler, Roy Hibbert of Georgetown, Chris Lofton of Tennessee, Drew Neitzel of Michigan State, DeMarcus Nelson of Duke, Brian Roberts of Dayton, and Peyton Stovall of Ball State.

The 10 finalists will be placed on the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award ballot for a nationwide vote beginning February 6 and concluding March 21. Fan balloting, available on the award’s official website, will be combined with votes from coaches, media and sponsors to determine the recipient of the award.

Winners will be announced during the NCAA Men’s and Women’s Final Four, scheduled on April 5-7 in San Antonio, Texas, for men and April 6-8 in Tampa, Fla., for women. The Lowe’s All-Senior All-America Team will also be recognized.

Last season, Virginia’s J.R. Reynolds was one of the 10 finalists for the award. Alando Tucker of Wisconsin won last year’s award.

Singletary is also a finalist for the Bob Cousy Award, given to the nation’s top point guard. He was also selected as a top 30 midseason candidate for both the John R. Wooden Award and the Naismith Trophy, both given to the nation’s top collegiate player.

Print Friendly Version