Story Links

NCAA Tournament Results & Awards

Year Opponent Score Site Rd. UVa Scorers
1969 Maryland L, 0-5 A 1st none
1979 American L, 0-1 H 2nd none
1981 West Virginia L, 1-2 H 2nd Brillhart
1982 George Mason L, 0-1 H 2nd none
1983 William & Mary W, 2-1 H 2nd Gaffney, Gelnovatch
San Francisco W, 3-2 H QF Gaffney 2, Salladin
Indiana L, 1-3 A SF Gaffney
1984 American (2ot) W, 1-0 H 2nd none*
Clemson L, 0-1 H QF none
1985 George Mason L, 0-1 H 1st none
1986 Loyola (Md.) L, 0-1 H 1st none
1987 George Mason W, 2-0 H 1st Del Carmen, Platenberg
Loyola (Md.) L, 0-1 A 2nd none
1988 FDU W, 1-0 H 2nd Fallon
Howard (2ot) L, 2-3 H QF Fallon, J. Agoos
1989 Phila. Textile W, 4-1 H 2nd Yorks 3, Kelderman
So. Carolina (2ot) W, 1-0 H QF Kelderman
Rutgers W, 3-0 A SF Maessner 2, Kunihiro
Santa Clara (4ot) T, 1-1 N1 F Fallon ~
1990 Richmond W, 1-0 H 1st Crawley
North Carolina W, 3-1 H 2nd Kunihiro, Yorks,
N.C. State (2ot) L, 1-2 A QF J. Agoos %
1991 Hartford (4ot) W, 2-1 H 2nd Reyna, Wood
Yale W, 2-0 H QF Crawley, Reyna
Saint Louis (3ot) W, 3-2 N2 SF Crawley 2, Wood
Santa Clara (4ot) T, 0-0 N2 F none $
1992 Penn State W, 4-1 H 2nd Reyna 2, Bates,
own goal
Dartmouth W, 3-0 H QF Wood 2, Brannan
Duke W, 3-0 N3 SF Crawley, Wood, Bates
San Diego W, 2-0 N3 F Friends, Imler
1993 William & Mary W, 2-1 H 1st Fisher, Reid
Loyola (Md.) W, 2-1 H 2nd Wood, Reyna
Wisconsin W, 3-0 H QF Wood 2, Peay
Princeton W, 3-1 N3 SF Friends 3
South Carolina W, 2-0 N3 F Friends 2
1994 UNC Greensboro W, 3-0 H 1st Fitzmaurice, Nix,
Maryland W, 2-1 H 2nd Wood, Friends
James Madison W, 4-1 H QF Wood 3, Friends
Rutgers W, 2-1 N3 SF Silvera, Walsh
Indiana W, 1-0 N3 F Wood
1995 Rhode Island W, 2-1 H 1st Walsh, Fisher
Hartwick W, 4-0 H 2nd Shapowal 2, Fisher 2
Brown W, 4-1 H QF Fisher 2, Feary, Walsh
Duke L, 2-3 N4 SF Feary, Leonard
1996 George Mason L, 0-1 H 1st none
1997 Howard W, 3-0 H 1st Olsen, Albright,
Georgetown W, 5-1 H 2nd Olsen 2, Leonard,
Trout, O’Donnel
American (2ot) W, 2-1 H QF West, Albright
Saint Louis W, 3-1 N4 SF Olsen 2, West
UCLA L, 0-2 N4 F none
1998 Rider W, 3-0 H 1st Trout, Barnes, Albright
South Carolina W, 1-0 H 2nd Barnes
Stanford L, 0-3 H QF none
1999 Princeton (3ot) W, 2-1 H 1st Martino, O’Donnell
Brown W, 3-1 H 2nd Gibbs, Martino, Barnes
UCLA L, 2-0 H QF none
2000 Lehigh W, 5-0 H 1st Kelly 2, Eskandarian,
Totten, Solomon
St. John’s W, 2-1 H 2nd Gibbs, Totten
Creighton L, 3-0 H QF none
2001 Seton Hall L, 1-0 H 2nd none
2002 W&M (2ot) L, 1-1 H 2nd Eskandarian
2003 Seton Hall W, 2-0 H 1st Cristman, Holder
Wake Forest W, 2-0 A 2nd Cristman, Littlefield
Creighton L, 3-1 H 3rd Cristman
2004 American W, 2-1 H 2nd Freeman, Hall
New Mexico+ T, 1-1 H 3rd Barlow
Duke L, 3-0 H QF none
2005 USF^ T, 4-4 H 2nd Murphy 2, Vide,
North Carolina L, 2-1 A 3rd Reyering
2006 Bucknell W, 4-0 H 2nd Cristman, Colaluca,
California W, 2-1 H 3rd Reyering 2
Notre Dame W, 3-2 H QF Cristman 2, Reyering
UCLA L, 4-0 N5 SF none
2007 St. Peter’s W, 3-1 H 1st Tierney, LaBauex,
J. Barlow
West Virginia L, 0-1 A 2nd none
2008 Connecticut L, 2-0 H 2nd none
2009 Bucknell W, 5-0 H 2nd Bates 3, Jumper, Tchani
Portland W, 1-0 H 3rd Dimas
Maryland W, 3-0 H QF Barlow, Bates, Evans
Wake Forest W, 2-1 N6 SF Tchani, Ownby
Akron W, 0-0 N6 F none ()
2010 Old Dominion L, 0-1 H 1st none
2011 Delaware (2ot) L, 0-1 H 1st none

All-Time NCAA Tournament Record: 52-27-4

* Game was a 0-0 tie, but Virginia was awarded a 1-0 victory after winning 4-2 in the penalty kick shootout.
~ Virginia and Santa Clara declared co-national champions.
% Game was a 1-1 tie, but N.C. State was awarded a 2-1 victory after winning 7-6 in the penalty kick shootout.
$ UVa declared national champion after winning 3-1 in the penalty kick shootout.
∞ Game resulted in a loss for Virginia because in 2002, a tie in the NCAA Tournament was to result in a win for the team that advanced on penalty kicks and a loss for the team that did not advance after penalty kicks.
+ UVa advanced to the quarterfinals after winning the penalty kick shootout, 6-5.
^ UVa advanced to the third round after winning the penalty kick shootout, 7-6.
() Game was a 0-0 tie, but Virginia was awarded the victory after winning 3-2 in the penalty kick shootout.

Key to neutral sites: N1-New Brunswick, N.J.; N2-Tampa, Fla.; N3-Davidson, N.C.; N4-Richmond, Va.;
N5-St. Louis, Mo.; N6-Cary, N.C.

NCAA Tournament MVPs
1989 Tony Meola (Defense)
1991 Jeff Causey (Defense)
Claudio Reyna (Offense)
1992 Claudio Reyna (Offense)
1993 Brian Bates (Defense)
Nate Friends (Offense)
1994 Mark Peters (Defense)
Damian Silvera (Off.)
2010 Jonathan Villanueva(Off.)
Diego Restrepo (Defense)

All-Tournament Team
1997 Ben Olsen
Scott Vermillion
Brian West
2010 Brian Ownby
Mike Volk
Tony Tchani

NCAA Tournament Records
Nate Friends
6 career goals in the
Final Four (5 in 1993)
Damian Silvera
10 career assists
A.J. Wood
13 career goals,
29 career points (tied

Print Friendly Version