CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Five members of the Virginia women’s soccer team have been named to All-ACC teams, including Freshman of the Year Lia Godfrey (Fleming Island, Fla.), it was announced by the conference office on Friday (Nov. 13).

Godfrey joins Becky Sauerburnn (2003), Jess Rostedt (2005) and Morgan Brian (2011) in earning ACC Freshman of the Year honors.

In addition to being named Freshman of the Year, Godfrey was also named to the All-ACC second team and the All-Freshman team. Joining Godfrey in All-ACC honors were first-team selection Alexa Spaanstra (Brighton, Mich.) and second-team honorees Rebecca Jarrett (Washington Township, N.J.) and Diana Ordoñez (Prosper, Texas). Samar Guidry (Plano, Texas) was named to the All-Freshman team.

ACC season awards, as well as the All-ACC teams, were determined by a vote of the league’s 14 head coaches.

Godfrey has played in all 11 matches for the Cavaliers with 10 starts this season. Her six assists this season leads the team and is second nationally and in the ACC. Three of her six assists have come on game-winning goals for the Cavaliers. She has three goals to go along with the six assists and her 12 points is fifth in the ACC.

Spaanstra, a junior forward, has started all eight games she’s played for the Cavaliers and is second on the team in goals (6) and points (14). She has tallied at least one point in five straight matches since she returned to the pitch against then No. 13 Louisville on October 15 after missing time due to injury.

Jarrett, a junior forward, has tallied nine points this season behind three goals and three assists. She tied a career high with four points in the Virginia win over Miami and assisted on the game-winning goal. Jarrett also notched goals in the Cavaliers’ wins at Boston College and Syracuse to close the season and help Virginia lock up the three seed for the ACC Tournament. Her goal at Syracuse was the game-winner.

Ordoñez, a sophomore forward, leads the team offensively this season as she has notched a team-leading 18 points and seven goals. She turned in a hat-trick for the Cavaliers in the ACC Tournament quarterfinals against Louisville to become only the fifth player in tournament history to record a hat trick and the first since the 2004 season.

Guidry, a freshman defender, started all nine matches she played for the Cavaliers and has tallied a pair of assists. She assisted on the opening goal of the season when she connected with Ordoñez in the season-opener against Virginia Tech and added her second assist in the last outing against Louisville in the ACC Tournament quarterfinal on Tuesday night. She has played 684 minutes on the season.

Virginia continues play at the ACC Tournament tonight, facing top-ranked and second-seeded North Carolina in an 8 p.m. match on the ACC Network.

2020 All-ACC Women’s Soccer Team
Offensive Player of the Year: Emina Ekic, Louisville, Sr., M
Defensive Player of the Year: Malia Berkely, Florida State, Sr., D
Midfielder of the Year: Jaelin Howell, Florida State, Jr., M
Freshman of the Year: Lia Godfrey, Virginia, Fr., M
Coach of the Year: Mark Krikorian, Florida State

First Team All-ACC
Sophie Jones, Duke, So., M
Malia Berkely, Florida State, Sr., D
Jaelin Howell, Florida State, Jr., M
Yujie Zhao, Florida State, Jr., M
Emina Ekic, Louisville, Sr., M,
Maycee Bell, North Carolina, So., D
Claudia Dickey, North Carolina, Jr., GK
Emily Fox, North Carolina Sr., D
Rachel Jones, North Carolina, Jr., F
Brianna Pinto, North Carolina, Jr., M
Alexa Spaanstra, Virginia, Jr., F

Second Team All-ACC

Makenna Morris, Clemson, Fr., D
Mariana Speckmaier, Clemson, Sr., F
Emily Madril, Florida State, Jr., D
Clara Robbins, Florida State, Jr., M
Cristina Roque, Florida State, Fr., GK
Taylor Otto, North Carolina, Sr., M
Sammi Fisher, Notre Dame, Sr., M
Amanda West, Pitt, So., F
Lia Godfrey, Virginia, Fr., M
Rebecca Jarrett, Virginia, Jr., F
Diana Ordonez, Virginia, So., F,

Third Team All-ACC
Megan Bornkamp, Clemson, Fr., D
Hal Hershfelt, Clemson, So., M
Courtney Jones, Clemson, Jr., M
Delaney Graham, Duke, Jr., D
Taylor Mitchell, Duke, Sr., D
Jenna Nighswonger, Florida State, So., M
Gabby Kouzelos, Louisville, Sr., GK
Sam Meza, North Carolina, Fr., M
Kiki Van Zanten, Notre Dame, So., F
Emily Gray, Virginia Tech, Jr., M
Hannah Betfort, Wake Forest, Sr., D

All-Freshman Team
Megan Bornkamp, Clemson, D
Makenna Morris, Clemson, D
Jody Brown, Florida State, F
Cristina Roque, Florida State, GK
Kaitlyn Zipay, Florida State, F
Talia Dellaperuta, North Carolina, F
Sam Meza, North Carolina, M
Lia Godfrey, Virginia, M
Samar Guidry, Virginia, D
Tori Powell, Virginia Tech, F
Sophie Faircloth, Wake Forest, D