CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia swimming & diving head coach Todd DeSorbo was named the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Division I Women’s Team Coach of the Year, the organization announced on Tuesday (March 23).

DeSorbo led Virginia to its first NCAA Swimming and Diving Championship. The Cavaliers captured six event titles en route to the championship and had twelve athletes named to CSCAA All-America Teams (ten first team and two second team).

Kate Douglass (Pelham, N.Y.) led the Cavaliers and earned the maximum of seven first-team All-American honors. Paige Madden (Mobile, Ala.) captured three NCAA individual titles, the most by any swimmer at NCAAs, and one with the 800-yard freestyle relay.

Minnesota’s Wenbo Chen was named the CSCAA Division I Women’s Diving Coach of the Year. They are joined by CSCAA Division I Women’s Diver of the year Sarah Bacon from Minnesota and CSCAA Division I Swimmer of the Year Maggie MacNeil of Michigan.

The awards were determined by a nationwide vote of CSCAA-member Division I head swimming coaches and head diving coaches. One additional vote was determined by the public via online polling.

One hundred and twenty-nine individuals were named first-team All-Americans. Among those, three swimmers captured the maximum of seven first-team honor awards. They included NC State’s Kylee Alons and Katherine Berkoff along with Virginia’s Douglass. MacNeil, along with Georgia’s Zoe Hartman, and Texas’ Kelly Pash earned first-team honors in six events. An additional ninety-two individuals earned second-team honors. All-Americans were selected on the basis of their performance at the NCAA Championships.

Virginia All-Americans

  • Lexi Cuomo (200 Freestyle Relay, 400 Medley Relay, 200 Medley Relay, 400 Freestyle Relay, 100 Butterfly)
  • Maddie Donohoe (1650 Freestyle (2nd Team), 500 Freestyle (2nd Team))
  • Kate Douglass (50 Freestyle, 200 Freestyle Relay, 400 Medley Relay, 100 Butterfly, 200 Medley Relay, 100 Freestyle, 400 Freestyle Relay)
  • Caroline Gmelich (200 Medley Relay, 100 Backstroke)
  • Abby Harter (200 Butterfly, 100 Butterfly (2nd Team))
  • Paige Madden (800 Freestyle Relay, 500 Freestyle, 200 Freestyle, 1650 Freestyle, 400 Freestyle Relay)
  • Jessica Nava (100 Butterfly (2nd Team))
  • Ella Nelson (800 Freestyle Relay, 400 IM, 200 Breaststroke, 200 IM)
  • Reilly Tiltmann (400 Medley Relay, 200 Backstroke, 100 Backstroke (2nd Team))
  • Kyla Valls (800 Freestyle Relay, 200 Freestyle Relay, 200 Freestyle (2nd Team))
  • Alex Walsh (800 Freestyle Relay, 200 IM, 200 Freestyle Relay, 400 Freestyle Relay, 200 Freestyle, 200 Breaststroke)
  • Alexis Wenger (400 Medley Relay, 200 Medley Relay, 100 Breaststroke, 200 Breaststroke)