CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia quarterback Brennan Armstrong was included as one of 15 semifinalists for Maxwell Award for Collegiate Player of the Year. Armstrong is one of four representatives from the Atlantic Coast Conference.

Armstrong leads the nation in passing yards (3,557), total offense (3,828) and points responsible for (212). Against BYU on Saturday night, Armstrong broke Virginia’s single-season passing record in just nine games played. He has eclipsed the 300-yard mark in eight of the nine games this season and thrown for over 400 yards four times. Against North Carolina on Sept. 18, Armstrong established the school record for passing yards with 554, also the most by an FBS quarterback this season.

Armstrong has been responsible for 34 of Virginia’s 44 touchdowns in 2021. His 27 passing touchdowns lead all ACC quarterbacks and are the most of any “Power-5” signal caller. He is one touchdown pass shy of matching UVA’s single season touchdown record held by Matt Schaub (2002). Armstrong needs 337 yards to crack the ACC’s single-season top-10 passing yards lit.

National Football Foundation College Hall of Fame and Pro Football Hall of Fam member, Bill Dudley was a recipient of the Maxwell Award in 1941. He led the Cavaliers to an 8-1 record and his 134 points were the most scored by anyone in the nation. He went on to finish fifth in the 1941 Heisman voting.

Semifinalist voting for the Maxwell Award presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Tuesday Nov. 2 and will close on Nov. 20. Three finalists for each award will be announced on Nov. 23 and a finalist round of voting will take place at that time. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, sports information directors and selected national media. All semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order by school with the player’s school, position and class designated.

The winners of the 85th Maxwell Award and the 27th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show which will be broadcast live on ESPN on December 9, 2021. The formal presentation of the Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Awards will take place at the 85th Maxwell Awards Gala which will be held at Tropicana Atlantic City on Friday March 11, 2022.

2021 Maxwell Award Semifinalists

First Last School Year Pos Conference
Brennan Armstrong Virginia Jr. QB ACC
Matt Corral Ole Miss R-Jr. QB SEC
Breece Hall Iowa State Jr. RB Big 12
Sam Hartman Wake Forest R-So. QB ACC
Drake London USC Jr. WR PAC-12
Grayson McCall Coastal Carolina R-So. QB Sun Belt
Tanner Mordecai SMU Jr. QB AAC
Kenny Pickett Pittsburgh R-Sr. QB ACC
Desmond Ridder Cincinnati Sr. QB AAC
Bijan Robinson Texas So. RB Big 12
C.J. Stroud Ohio State R-Fr. QB Big 10
Sean Tucker Syracuse Fr. RB ACC
Kenneth Walker III Michigan State Jr. RB Big 10
Malik Willis Liberty Jr. QB IND
Bryce Young Alabama So. QB SEC