CHARLOTTESVILLE Va. — Virginia outside hitter Brooklyn Borum (Sterling, Ill./Sterling HS) has been named to the 2021 ACC All-Freshman Team, the conference office announced on Monday. The annual postseason awards were determined by a vote of the league’s head coaches.

Borum is now the 22nd player in program history to earn ACC All-Freshman honors and the first Cavalier to earn any ACC postseason accolade since Sarah Billiard was named to the ACC All-Freshman Team in 2017.

A true freshman in 2021, Borum appeared in 98 out of 100 possible sets and started in all but one match for the Cavaliers this season. She led the team in kills per set (2.39) and reception percentage (.972). Borum was also second on the team in digs per set (2.22) and points per set (2.84). The Sterling, Illinois native collected a team-high seven double-doubles on the season. Borum tied her season high of 15 kills on two occasions, including in UVA’s four-set triumph at North Carolina (Sept. 26). She also posted a season-high 24 digs, which tied for the most by any Cavalier in a single match this season, in Virginia’s five-set comeback win at VCU (Sept. 10). Borum was named an all-tournament selection at the VCU Invitational (Sept. 10-11) and at UVA’s second home tournament (Sept. 17-18).


2021 ACC Volleyball Awards
Player of the Year: Julia Bergmann, Georgia Tech, Jr., OH
Defensive Player of the Year: Mackenzie Cole, Duke, Sr., L
Setter of the Year: Tori Dilfer, Louisville, Sr., S
Freshman of the Year: Mabrey Shaffmaster, North Carolina, Fr., OH
Coach of the Year: Dani Busboom Kelly, Louisville

First Team All-ACC
Emma Clothier***, Florida State, Jr., MB
Julia Bergmann^***, Georgia Tech, Jr., OH
Mariana Brambilla^****, Georgia Tech, Sr., OH
Matti McKissock***, Georgia Tech, Sr., S
Anna DeBeer***, Louisville, So., OH
Tori Dilfer^**, Louisville, Gr., S
Anna Stevenson^***, Louisville, Gr., MB
Savannah Vach***, Miami, So., S
Melissa Evans*****, NC State, Gr., OPP
Serena Gray, Pitt, Sr., MB
Kayla Lund*****, Pitt, Gr., OH
Leketor Member-Meneh, Pitt, Sr., OH
Chinaza Ndee****, Pitt, Sr., RS
Marina Markova, Syracuse, Jr., OH

Second Team All-ACC
Mackenzie Cole**, Duke, Sr., L
Morgan Chacon**, Florida State, Jr., S
Breland Morrissette, Georgia Tech, Sr., MB
Claire Chaussee, Louisville, Sr., OH
Aiko Jones**, Louisville, Jr., OPP
Amaya Tillman***, Louisville, Jr., MB
Elena Scott, Louisville, Fr., L
Angela Grieve, Miami, So., OH
Priscilla Hernandez, Miami, Sr., L
Janice Leao, Miami, Jr., MB
Kaya Merkler**, North Carolina, So., MH
Nia Parker-Robinson, North Carolina, Gr., OH
Mabrey Shaffmaster, North Carolina, Fr., OH
Charley Niego****, Notre Dame, Sr., OH
Polina Shemanova***, Syracuse, Sr., OH

*15 players on the second team due to a tie in the voting

All-Freshman Team
Emery Dupes, Florida State, L
Audrey Koenig, Florida State, OH
Khori Louis, Florida State, MB
Bianca Bertolino, Georgia Tech, OH
Elena Scott, Louisville, L
Peyman Yardimci, Miami, OH
Mabrey Shaffmaster, North Carolina, OH
Jada Allen, NC State, MB
Brooklyn Borum, Virginia, OH

^ denotes unanimous first-team selection

* denotes number of career All-ACC honors