CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia quarterback Brennan Armstrong  was named a finalist for the Dudley Award, presented annually to the player of the year at a Virginia state school. A Cavalier has won three of the last four awards.

The Dudley Award is named after former University of Virginia standout “Bullet” Bill Dudley and has been presented annually since 1990. Each football-playing school in the Commonwealth is allowed to nominate one player. In 2004, a separate award was created for players at Division II and Division III schools.

The Richmond Times-Dispatch sponsors the awards. A panel of 15 voters is used to select the Dudley Award winner.

Armstrong has put together one of the best seasons ever by a Virginia quarterback setting new school marks for passing yardage (4,449), total offense (4,700) and passing touchdowns. He leads the country in total offense and is second in the nation in passing yards per game (404.5) and points responsible for per game (22.5).

Armstrong is a four-time ACC Quarterback of the Week and was in consideration for national awards such as the Maxwell Award (semifinalist), Davey O’Brien Award (semifinalist), Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (Top-10 Finalist) and The Manning Award.

A member of the National Football Foundation’s College Football Hall of Fame and the Pro Football Hall of Fame, Dudley became the first Cavalier to have his number (35) retired. He finished fifth in the 1941 Heisman balloting. 

Previous UVA Dudley Award Winners

1990: Shawn Moore
1991: Matt Blundin
1994: Mike Frederick
1996: Tiki Barber
1997: Anthony Poindexter
2001: Billy McMullen
2007: Chris Long
2017: Micah Kiser
2018: Bryce Perkins
2019: Bryce Perkins