CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Junior forward Diana Ordoñez has been named one of 15 semifinalists for the MAC Hermann Trophy honoring the national Player of the Year it was announced by the United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club on Tuesday (Nov. 30).

The MAC Hermann Trophy, presented by World Wide Technology, is the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer and has been awarded annually since 1967.

Three women’s finalists will be named for the award on Wednesday, Dec. 8, in conjunction with the Women’s College Cup in Santa Clara, Calif. The 2021 MAC Hermann Trophy banquet will be held at the historic Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Jan. 7, 2022, to formally announce this year’s winner.

Ordoñez is the first semifinalist from Virginia since midfielder Alexis Shaffer in 2016. The Cavaliers have had a finalist in six seasons, including two-time winner Morgan Brian who won the award in back-to-back  years in 2013 and 2014. Other finalists include Gayle Smith (1989), Amanda Cromwell (1991), Caroline Miller (2012) and Emily Sonnett (2015).

Ordoñez was named the ACC Offensive Player of the Year this season, becoming the first Cavalier to win the honor since 2016 season, and also garnered first-team All-ACC and All-Region honors. She finished her year with 18 goals and 39 points, leading Virginia and the ACC in both categories. Her 18 goals is second nationally, while she is also eighth nationally in total points. She is fifth among active NCAA Division I players in career points per game (1.65) and goals per game (0.73).

Of her 18 goals this season, eight of them were game winners which is the most in a single season in Virginia history and leads the nation this year. This included game-winning goals against then No. 2 Duke, at No. 12 West Virginia, No. 24 Clemson and Milwaukee, and pushed her to 15 game-winning goals in her three-year career, tying for fifth in program history at UVA. Her 18 goals pushed her to 45 goals for her career to tie for the third most in a career at Virginia and it was the fourth most in a single season at Virginia. Her 39 points pushed her to 102 for her career – both marks are tied for sixth most in a season and career at Virginia. She helped Virginia claim the ACC regular-season title as the only team to go unbeaten in ACC play this season.

Virginia posted an 18-3-2 record this season. The Cavaliers advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the 28th consecutive season and 34th time overall. The 28 consecutive appearances is the second-longest active streak and the 34 overall appearances is the second most by any NCAA Division I program.

2021 MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

Croix Bethune Jr. M Southern California Alpharetta, Ga.
Messiah Bright Sr. F TCU Dallas, Texas
Mikayla Colohan Sr. M BYU Kaysville, Utah
Michelle Cooper Fr. F Duke Clarkston, Mich.
Naomi Girma Sr. D Stanford San Jose, Calif.
Parker Goins Sr. M Arkansas Broken Arrow, Okla.
Jaelin Howell Sr. M Florida State Lone Tree, Colo.
Emily Madril Sr. D Florida State Navarre, Fla.
Alia Martin Sr. D Michigan Carmel, Ind.
Diana Ordoñez Jr. F Virginia Prosper, Texas
Ashley Orkus Sr. K Ole Miss Vestavia Hills, Ala.
Gabby Provenzano Sr. D Rutgers Sergeantsville, N.J.
Frankie Tagliaferri Sr. M Rutgers Colts Neck, N.J.
Miri Taylor Sr. F Hofstra Gillingham, England
Kelsey Turnbow Sr. F Santa Clara Scottsdale, Ariz.