CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Eight Virginia men’s lacrosse players were named 2023 preseason All-Americans according to Inside Lacrosse, the organization announced on Wednesday (Jan. 25). The Cavaliers’ eight honorees led all Division-I programs nationally.

Virginia attackman and 2022 Tewaaraton Award finalist Connor Shellenberger was one of three unanimous first-team selections alongside Sam Handley (Penn) and Will Bowen (Georgetown).

UVA newcomer Thomas McConvey, a transfer in the midfield from Vermont, and defenseman Cole Kastner nabbed second-team honors.

Attackman Payton Cormier was voted a third-team selection.

Jeff Conner (M), Petey LaSalla (FO), Grayson Sallade (SSDM) and Cade Saustad (D) rounded out the list for the Hoos on the honorable mention list.

The preseason All-Americans are voted on by members of the media who vote weekly in the Inside Lacrosse poll. Eighteen voters picked at least three teams worth of candidates; the votes were tallied, and remaining players who received a mass of votes were compiled in alphabetical order for the honorable mention team.

Virginia was named the nation’s No. 1 team according to Inside Lacrosse’s preseason media poll, which was announced on Jan. 23.

A – Connor Shellenberger, Virginia

A – Matt Brandau, Yale
A – CJ Kirst, Cornell
M – Sam Handley, Penn
M – Graham Bundy Jr., Georgetown
M – Matt Campbell, Villanova
FO – Luke Wierman, Maryland
SSDM – Payton Rezanka, Loyola
SSDM – Connor Maher, North Carolina
LSM – Roy Meyer, Boston U.
D – Will Bowen, Georgetown
D – Gavin Adler, Cornell
D – Brett Makar, Maryland
G – Liam Entenmann, Notre Dame

A – Brennan O’Neill, Duke
A – Pat Kavanagh, Notre Dame
A – Jack Myers, Ohio State
M – Kyle Long, Maryland
M – Jake Stevens, Princeton
M – Thomas McConvey, Virginia
FO – Zach Cole, Saint Joseph
SSDM – Piper Bond, Penn
SSDM – Beau Pederson, Princeton
LSM – Ethan Rall, Rutgers
D – Owen Grant, Delaware
D – Ajax Zappitello, Maryland
D – Cole Kastner, Virginia
G – Logan McNaney, Maryland

A – Ross Scott, Rutgers
A – Tucker Dordevic, Georgetown
A – Payton Cormier, Virginia
M – Sam English, Princeton
M – Patrick Skalniak, Navy
M – Shane Knobloch, Rutgers
FO – Mike Sisselberger, Lehigh
SSDM – Chet Comizio, Villanova
SSDM – Trevor Yeboah-Kodie, Brown
LSM – Tyler Carpenter, Duke
D – Chris Fake, Notre Dame
D – Jackson Bonitz, Navy
D – Kenny Brower, Duke
G – Connor Theriault, Brown

A – Levi Anderson, Saint Joseph’s
A – Vince D’Alto, Boston U.
A – Dylan Gergar, Penn
A – Owen Hiltz, Syracuse
A – Devon McLane, Brown
A – Mike Robinson, Delaware
A – Alex Slusher, Princeton
A – Max Waldbaum, Jacksonville
A – Dylan Watson, Jacksonville
A – Josh Zawada, Michigan
M – Aiden Blake, Cornell
M – Jeff Conner, Virginia
M – Eric Dobson, Notre Dame
M – Hugh Kelleher, Cornell
M – Andrew McAdorey, Duke
M – Declan McDermott, Georgetown
M – Brian Tevlin, Notre Dame
FO – Petey LaSalla, Virginia
FO – James Reilly, Georgetown
SSDM – Connor Cmiel, Ohio State
SSDM – Cole Daninger, Jacksonville
SSDM – Grayson Sallade, Virginia
SSDM – Chase Yager, Harvard
LSM – Greg Campisi, Harvard
LSM – BJ Farrare, Penn
LSM – John Geppert, Maryland
D – Marcus Hudgins, Ohio State
D – Brendan Lavelle, Penn
D – Cade Saustad, Virginia
D – Bobby Van Buren, Ohio State
D – Cam Wyers, Loyola
G – Matt Garber, Boston U.
G – Will Mark, Syracuse
G – Jared Paquette, Yale