CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The No. 25 Virginia women’s golf team is the No. 5 seed for the NCAA Regional Westfield, Indiana site that will be held at the The Club at Chatham Hills. The 54-hole regional championship takes place May 8-10.

It marks the 17th time Virginia has received a bid to the NCAA Championships. Virginia will be looking to advance from a regional site to the NCAA Championships for the 13th time in the program’s 20-year history.

A total of six, 12-team regional sites will determine the teams that advance to the NCAA Championships. The top five teams (30 teams total) and the low individual (six individuals total) not on an advancing team from each regional site qualify for the national championships. The NCAA Championships are set for May 19-24 at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz.

The field at the Westfield Regional site includes (in seed order) 1. Mississippi State, 2. Oregon, 3. Vanderbilt, 4. Iowa State, 5. Virginia, 6. Tulsa, 7. Tennessee, 8. Michigan, 9. Oregon State, 10. Xavier, 11. Lipscomb and 12. Morehead State.

Last year the Cavaliers were the runners-up at the Ann Arbor Regional, finishing three shots behind San Jose State. UVA went on to finish 15th at the NCAA Championships led by graduate student Beth Lillie’s second consecutive ninth-place showing.

Virginia is one of seven ACC teams to receive an invitation to this year’s national championship. Also qualifying were Clemson, Duke, Florida State, NC State, North Carolina and Wake Forest.

NCAA Regional Fields

Athens, Georgia – University of Georgia Golf Course (Georgia, host)
Participating Schools: 1. South Carolina, 2. San Jose State, 3. Ole Miss, 4. Ohio State, 5. Georgia, 6. Maryland, 7. Kent State, 8. Charleston, 9. Kansas, 10. Furman, 11. Augusta, 12. Sacred Heart

Westfield, Indiana – The Club at Chatham Hills (Indiana, host)
Participating Schools: 1. Mississippi State, 2. Oregon, 3. Vanderbilt, 4. Iowa State, 5. Virginia, 6. Tulsa, 7. Tennessee, 8. Michigan, 9. Oregon State, 10. Xavier, 11. Lipscomb, 12. Morehead State

Pullman, Washington – Palouse Ridge Golf Club (Washington State, host)
Participating Schools: 1. Stanford, 2. Baylor, 3. USC, 4. Clemson, 5. Kentucky, 6. Texas Tech, 7. Houston, 8. North Carolina, 9. UNLV, 10. Sacramento State, 11. Cal Poly, 12. UW Green Bay.

Raleigh, North Carolina – Lonnie Poole Golf Course (NC State, host)
Participating Schools: 1. Wake Forest, 2. Arizona State, 3. Florida State, 4. Florida, 5. Arizona, 6. North Texas, 7. TCU, 8. NC State, 9. Purdue, 10. Nebraska, 11. Campbell, 12. Richmond

San Antonio, Texas – TPC San Antonio (UTSA, host)
Participating Schools: 1. Texas A&M, 2. Auburn, 3. Pepperdine, 4. Oklahoma State, 5. SMU, 6. UCLA, 7. New Mexico, 8. Denver, 9. Illinois, 10. Sam Houston, 11. Louisiana Monroe, 12. Missouri State

Palm Beach Gardens, Florida – PGA National Resort Champions Course (Florida Atlantic, host)
Participating Schools: 1. LSU, 2. Texas, 3. Northwestern, 4. UCF, 5. Duke, 6. Michigan State, 7. California, 8. Arkansas, 9. Alabama, 10. South Florida, 11. Penn, 12. Quinnipiac