CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The No. 12 Virginia women’s lacrosse team (11-6) begins play in the 2023 NCAA Tournament facing UAlbany (11-6) in the first round on Friday, May 12 at 8 p.m. ET/6 p.m. MT at Peter Barton Lacrosse Stadium.

All the games will be streamed live on ESPN+ for authenticated subscribers. Links for the live stats and live stream are available on


  • Virginia and UAlbany are meeting for the first time in program history.
  • The Cavaliers are 18-2 all-time against the American East conference. UVA is 18-0 against UMBC and 0-2 against New Hampshire in school history.
  • This will be the first time Virginia has played an American East opponent since it last played UMBC in 2004.


  • UVA ranks second in the nation with 70 NCAA Tournament games played. Virginia is 39-31 all-time in the tournament with the 39 wins tied for fourth-most all-time.
  • Virginia’s 14 Final Four appearances rank second, only behind Maryland’s 27.
  • The Cavaliers have won their last four first round games, having a bye in the first round in 2019, to advance to the NCAA Second Round in the last five NCAA Tournaments.
  • In 2019, Virginia advanced to the NCAA Quarterfinals after hosting the first and second rounds.


  • Three players have moved into the UVA Top 10 in career stats this season.
  • Junior Aubrey Williams became the all-time leader in draw controls at UVA, with 328 and counting. Williams surpassed previous record holder Maggie Jackson’s 301 in the win at VCU with her 15 draws. 15 also matches the most ever in a single game at UVA.
  • Graduate student Ashlyn McGovern ranks in the top 10 in both goals and points. She is third all-time with 202 goals and eighth all-time with 221 points in her career.
  • Junior Morgan Schwab is sixth all-time with 92 career assists. Schwab has 43 assists this season, tying Lindsay Sheehan’s third-year record of 43 set in 1985 and also ranks second all-time in a single-season.

The winner of Friday’s game will play the winner of 5-seed Denver and USC on Sunday, May 14 at 3 p.m. ET/1 p.m. MT.