CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia men’s tennis junior Chris Rodesch and head coach Andres Pedroso came away with the Player and Coach of the Year awards for the 2023 Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) All-State University Division, the organization announced Wednesday (June 28).

Pedroso became the first coach to be named the ITA National Coach of the Year in back-to-back seasons, taking home the honor the last two years. He led the Cavaliers to a second-straight national title and a final 2023 record of 30-4. UVa won its final 22 matches of the year. The Cavaliers were a perfect 12-0 in ACC play and won the ACC Tournament crown.

Rodesch took home the state’s top award after earning All-America honors in singles for the second-straight season. He ended the year ranked No. 5 in the ITA Singles rankings and advanced to the semifinals at the NCAA Singles Championship. Rodesch was named the MVP of both the NCAA team championship and the ACC Championship. He finished the year at 31-6 in singles, including a 21-3 mark in the spring.

Joining Rodesch on the all-state first team were UVA teammates Jeffrey von der Schulenburg, Ryan Goetz and Iñaki Montes and Alex Kiefer. All-Sun Belt First Team selection Holden Koons of James Madison garnered all-state first-team honors for the third time. von der Schulenburg and Goetz both garnered all-state honors for the third time in their careers.

The doubles first team included the Virginia combo of Montes and Goetz as well as the Cavalier pair of Rodesch and von der Schulenburg. Those tandems were ranked No. 15 and No. 44 nationally, respectively. The ODU tandem of Brandon Perez and Younes Lalami rounded out the first team. The duo finished the year ranked No. 90 nationally.

VaSID names 44 all-state teams in 23 sports each year, as well as an Academic All-State squad and an all-sports champion in both the University and College Divisions. Membership in VaSID is open to all media relations professionals working at a university or conference in the state of Virginia.

Coach of the Year: Andres Pedroso, Virginia
Player of the Year: Chris Rodesch, Virginia
Rookie of the Year: Cosme Rolland de Ravel, Old Dominion

VaSID All-State Teams 

Singles First Team
Chris Rodesch, Virginia
Jeffrey von der Schulenburg, Virginia
Ryan Goetz, Virginia
Iñaki Montes, Virginia
Alex Kiefer, Virginia
Holden Koons, James Madison

Doubles First Team
Jeffrey von der Schulenburg/Chris Rodesch, Virginia
Iñaki Montes/Ryan Goetz, Virginia
Brandon Perez/Younes Lalami, Old Dominion

Singles Second Team
Jospeh Brailovsky, William & Mary
Cosme Rolland de Ravel, Old Dominion
Josh Wilson, Liberty
George Davis, William & Mary
Ryan Fishback, Virginia Tech
Jakob Cadobau, Old Dominion

Doubles Second Team
Christian Worst/Josh Wilson, Liberty
Bill Duo/George Davis, William & Mary
Jordan Chrysostom/Ryan Fishback, Virginia Tech