CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Three members of the Virginia men’s lacrosse program claimed Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) annual honors, while a total of 12 Cavaliers garnered all-state recognition, the organization announced Friday (June 30).

Connor Shellenberger was named the Commonwealth’s Player of the Year, while Cade Saustad was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year. Head coach Lars Tiffany was named Coach of the Year.

For the second consecutive season, Shellenberger was honored as one of the nation’s five Tewaaraton Award Finalists and a USILA first team All-American. He was the Division I statistical champion in assists per game (3.38) and finished second in points per game (5.25). Shellenberger was sensational in the NCAA Tournament, averaging 7.33 points per game while leading the Cavaliers to the semifinals. In three tournament games, Shellenberger totaled 22 points – the most by any individual in the tournament – on his way to garnering his second career NCAA All-Tournament Team honor. Shellenberger was also the only player in the nation to tally three 10-point outings this past season.

Saustad was voted a first team All-American after an All-ACC selection after leading the ACC in caused turnovers per game (2.00). He finished the season with 34 caused turnovers, the most by a UVA player in a single season since 2017.

Tiffany led the Cavaliers to their third NCAA Tournament semifinals appearance in their last four attempts. UVA finished 13-4 overall, including 2-0 against in-state foes, which marked the seventh consecutive year Tiffany and the Cavaliers finished with a winning record. On average, Virginia outscored its opponents by more than five goals this past year and did not lose by more than two goals. For the sixth time, Tiffany and the Cavaliers led the nation in ground balls (39.65). UVA also led the nation in assists (11.47), points (28.71), scoring offense (17.24) and shot percentage (.381).

VaSID names 44 all-state teams in 23 sports each year, as well as an Academic All-State squad and an all-sports champion in both the University and College Divisions. Membership in VaSID is open to all media relations professionals working at a university or conference in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Offensive Player of the Year: Connor Shellenberger, A, Virginia

Defensive Player of the Year: Cade Saustad, D, Virginia

Rookie of the Year: Aidan O’Neil, A, Richmond

Coach of the Year: Lars Tiffany, Virginia

First Team All-State

A – Payton Cormier, Virginia

A – Xander Dickson, Virginia

A – Connor Shellenberger, Virginia

M – Thomas McConvey, Virginia

M – Griffin Schutz, Virginia

M – Lance Madonna, Richmond

D – Cade Saustad, Virginia

D – Cole Kastner, Virginia

D – Jake Saunders, Virginia

LSM – Scott Bower, Virginia

FO – Petey LaSalla, Virginia

G – Matthew Nunes, Virginia

Second Team All-State

A – Luke Rusterucci, VMI

A – Dalton Young, Richmond

A – Aiden O’Neil, Richmond

A – Hartley Jordan, VMI

A – Luke Grayum, Richmond

M – Jeff Conner, Virginia

D – Derrek Madonna, Richmond

D – Joe Sheridan, Richmond

D – Quentin Matsui, Virginia

LSM – Tommy Stull, Richmond

FO – Jared Chenoy, Richmond

G – Zach Vigue, Richmond