CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia standout Kate Douglass (Pelham, N.Y./NYAC) has been named among the 25 athletes chosen as semifinalists for the 93rd AAU James E. Sullivan Award.

The AAU James E. Sullivan Award is presented annually to the most outstanding athlete at the collegiate or Olympic level in the United States. In addition to athletic excellence, the AAU Sullivan Award aims to recognize the qualities of leadership, citizenship, character and sportsmanship on and off the field.

At the 2023 NCAA Women’s Swimming Championships in March, Douglass added seven new NCAA titles to her long list of accomplishments. She led the Cavaliers with three individual wins in the 200-yard individual medley, 100y butterfly and 200y breaststroke, setting American, NCAA and U.S. Open records in all three.

She secured her spot on the World Aquatics Championships team with her standout performances at the Phillips 66 National Championships last month in Indianapolis.

Voting to determine the six finalists is open and closes Wednesday, July 19 at 11:59 p.m. ET. Fans can vote once per day until voting closes.

Past swimmers who have won the award:

  •  1944: Ann Curtis
  •  1964: Don Schollander
  •  1968: Debbie Meyer
  •  1970: John Kinsella
  •  1971: Mark Spitz
  •  1975: Tim Shaw
  •  1977: John Naber
  •  1978: Tracy Caulkins
  •  1989: Janet Evans
  •  2003: Michael Phelps
  •  2006: Jessica Long
  •  2012: Missy Franklin
  •  2021: Caeleb Dressel (co-recipient with gymnastics’ Simone Biles)

The full list of AAU James E. Sullivan Award semifinalists can be viewed here. This year’s winner will be announced at an awards ceremony on Tuesday, September 19 at the historic New York Athletic Club (NYAC) – the birthplace of the AAU.