CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia wide receiver Malik Washington was announced as a one of 10 semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award by The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., creator and sponsor of the prestigious honor. The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the college football season’s most outstanding FBS receiver.

The 2023 Biletnikoff Award semifinalists are as follows (in alphabetical order):
Brock Bowers (TE), Georgia
Luther Burden III (WR), Missouri
Keon Coleman (WR), Florida State
Troy Franklin (WR), Oregon
Marvin Harrison Jr. (WR), Ohio State
Xavier Legette (WR), South Carolina
Malik Nabers (WR), LS
Rome Odunze (WR), Washington
Brian Thomas Jr. (WR), LSU
Malik Washington (WR), Virginia

In 11 games this year, Washington has caught 96 passes for 1,311 receiving yards, both UVA single-season records. He currently leads the ACC and ranks second in FBS in receptions (96), receptions per game (8.7), receiving yards (1,311) and receiving yards per game (119.2). He has racked up nine 100-yard receiving performances in 2023, including six-straight, the most of any FBS receiver.

Including a two-touchdown performance this past weekend against Duke, Washington has caught nine touchdowns this season, tied for the fifth-most in UVA history and tied for the second most in the ACC. Washington needs four more receptions to become the sixth ACC player ever to catch 100 passes in a season. He needs 36 more receiving yards to crack the ACC’s single-season top-10 list.

For his career, Washington has hauled in 216 passes for 2,659 yards and caught 12 touchdown passes. Dating back to his time as an undergraduate at Northwestern, Washington has caught a pass in 36 consecutive games.

Recently, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation opened the 2023 FanVote. Every fan may vote once daily on the Biletnikoff Award FanVote page. The aggregate fan tally will be counted as one official vote to determine semi-finalists, finalists (three receivers), and the winner. In the closest contest in years, the FanVote tally provided the one-vote margin of victory for 2013 winner Brandin Cooks of Oregon State.