CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Four Virginia field hockey players were named to the 2023 NFHCA Division I All-South Region teams, as announced on Wednesday (Nov. 29) by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association.

Grad student Adele Iacobucci, junior Noa Boterman, and sophomore Daniela Mendez-Trendler were named to the first team, while sophomore Madison Orsi earned second-team honors. Each of the five regions named 16 student-athletes to their first team and 16 student-athletes to their second team.

Iacobucci finished the year with a spot on the All-ACC first team. She ended her season with four goals, including two game winners, and an assist. She ended her career at Virginia with the most games played in program history. This is her fourth All-South Region first-team honor.

Boterman was named a member of the All-ACC second team with 19 points on eight goals and three assists. She also led the ACC and ranked fourth in the nation with five defensive saves. She scored two goals, including the game-winner, in the ACC Quarterfinal win against Syracuse and logged her ACC-leading fifth defensive in the NCAA Quarterfinal win at Maryland. This is her first All-Region selection.

Mendez-Trendler tallied 27 points this season on nine goals and nine assists, which both led the team. She was named Second Team All-ACC. This is her second All-South Region first-team honor.

Orsi started all 21 games, tallying a goal and two assists. She scored her first career goal in the NCAA Quarterfinal win against Maryland. She was included on the NFHCA NCAA Division I Preseason Watchlist, and ended her season named Second-Team All-ACC and NCAA All-Tournament Team. This is her first All-Region selection.

The NFHCA Division I All-Region team announcement is the first in a list of postseason awards to come from the NFHCA over the next several weeks. Next to be announced are the NFHCA Regional Players of the Year on December 7, followed by the NFHCA All-American teams on December 12 and the NFHCA National Player of the Year on December 15.

Members of the All-Region first-team are in consideration for All-American honors.

South Region First Team

Noa Boterman, University of Virginia (Midfielder)
Charly Bruder, University of North Carolina (Forward)
Sietske Brüning, University of North Carolina (Midfielder)
Jodie Conolly, Liberty University (Forward)
Marlon de Bruijne, Old Dominion University (Forward)
Bethany Dykema, Liberty University (Defender)
Pyper Friedman, William & Mary (Midfielder)
Piper Hampsch, Duke University (Goalkeeper)
Ryleigh Heck, University of North Carolina (Forward)
Adele Iacobucci, University of Virginia (Midfielder)
Azul Iritxity Irigoyen, Liberty University (Goalkeeper)
Mora Marrero, Virginia Commonwealth University (Midfielder)
Alaina McVeigh, Duke University (Forward)
Daniela Mendez-Trendler, University of Virginia (Midfielder)
Hannah Miller, Duke University (Forward)
Frederique Zandbergen, Old Dominion University (Midfielder)

South Region Second Team

Lisa Boekaar, Appalachian State University (Midfielder)
Martu Cian, Liberty University (Forward)
Addie Clark, Appalachian State University (Goalkeeper)
Lauren Curran, William & Mary (Forward)
Grace Delmotte, Wake Forest University (Midfielder)
Nicole Fredricks, Old Dominion University (Defender)
Nathalie Friedman, Wake Forest University (Defender)
Sanne Hak, University of North Carolina (Midfielder)
Morena Macera, Virginia Commonwealth University (Midfielder)
Morgan Merritt, James Madison University (Midfielder)
Jayden Moon, William & Mary (Midfielder)
Madison Orsi, University of Virginia (Defender)
Mia Schoenbeck, Wake Forest University (Defender)
Rina Tsioles, Old Dominion University (Midfielder)
Reagan Underwood, Liberty University (Midfielder)
Charlie van Oirschot, Duke University (Midfielder)