CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Six Virginia men’s lacrosse players have been named preseason All-Americans as was announced by Inside Lacrosse on Monday (Jan. 29).

Connor Shellenberger and Cole Kastner represented the Hoos on the first-team list. Payton Cormier, Griffin Schutz and Chase Yager were named third-team selections. Noah Chizmar garnered honorable mention recognition.

Virginia’s six honorees are good for third most among all programs nationally. The Cavaliers were voted No. 3 in Inside Lacrosse’s preseason poll, which was announced on Jan. 22.

Virginia kicks off its 2024 campaign on Saturday, Feb. 10, when the Hoos host Michigan at noon in their season opener. Broadcast designations will be announced at later date as determined by the ACC and its television partners.

First Team
A Brennan O’Neill Duke
A CJ Kirst Cornell
A Connor Shellenberger Virginia
M Eric Dobson Notre Dame
M Graham Bundy, Jr. Georgetown
M Jake Stevens Syracuse
FO Jake Naso Duke
SSDM Beau Pederson Michigan
SSDM Ben Ramsey Notre Dame
LSM Roy Meyer Boston U
D Ajax Zappitello Maryland
D Kenny Brower Duke
D Cole Kastner Virginia
G Liam Entenmann Notre Dame
Second Team
A Pat Kavanagh Notre Dame
A Coulter Mackesy Princeton
A TJ Malone Penn State
M Alexander Vardaro Georgetown
M Shane Knobloch Rutgers
M Matt Traynor Penn State
FO Luke Wierman Maryland
SSDM Brett Martin Johns Hopkins
SSDM Grant Haus Penn State
LSM/D Jake Piseno UAlbany
D Mason Woodward Marquette
D AJ Pilate Army
D Scott V. Smith Johns Hopkins
G Jack Fracyon Penn State
Third Team
A Matt Brandau Yale
A Joey Spallina Syracuse
A Payton Cormier Virginia
A Michael Boehm Michigan
M Griffin Schutz Virginia
M Matt Collison Johns Hopkins
M Jacob Morin Army
FO Will Coletti Army
SSDM Dylan Hess Georgetown
SSDM Chase Yager Virginia
LSM Tyler Carpenter Duke
D Jackson Bonitz Navy
D Jack Posey Penn State
D Bobby Van Buren Ohio State
G Will Mark Syracuse
Honorable Mention
A Dyson Williams Duke
A Russell Melendez Johns Hopkins
A Chris Lyons Yale
A Ross Scott Rutgers
A Chris Kavanagh Notre Dame
A Reese Burek Army
M Evan Plunkett Army
M Andrew McAdorey Duke
M Sam English Syracuse
M Levi Anderson Saint Joseph’s
M Hugh Kelleher Cornell
M Thomas Greenblatt Ohio State
M Lance Madonna Richmond
FO Justin Wietfeldt Michigan
FO Tommy Burke Ohio State
FO Alec Stathakis Denver
SSDM Patrick Hackler Yale
SSDM Noah Chizmar Virginia
SSDM Chris Davis Cornell
SSDM Aidan Maguire Duke
LSM Richard Checo Lehigh
LSM Will Donovan Notre Dame
LSM Jack Stuzin Yale
LSM Saam Olexo Syracuse
D Brendan Lavelle Penn
D Pace Billings Princeton
D Chris Conlin Notre Dame
D Andrew Geppert North Carolina
D Jack Follows Cornell
D Patrick Morrison Boston U
D Paul Barton North Carolina
D Jack DiBenedetto Denver
D Reid Colwell Villanova
G Logan McNaney Maryland
G Matt Knote UMass
G Mike Gianforcaro Princeton
G Chayse Ierlan Johns Hopkins