CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. — The NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Selection Committee announced Sunday (May 5) that the Virginia women’s lacrosse team will be the fifth seed in the NCAA Championship and will take on LIU in the first round at 3 p.m. on Friday (May 10) at Klöckner Stadium. Virginia will make its 28th consecutive appearance in the NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Championship.

The NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Championship is made up of 29 teams. The top eight teams in the 29-team bracket are seeded, and the top three seeds receive first-round byes. 

Virginia’s top-eight seed means Klöckner Stadium will also serve as the host site for a first-round matchup between Florida and North Carolina on Friday (May 10) at 6 p.m. The winners of Friday’s games will meet in the second round on Sunday (May 12) at Klöckner Stadium. First draw is set for (1 p.m.). All three games will be broadcast on ESPN+.

Tickets are $10 for general admission and $15 for reserved seating. Tickets go on sale Monday (May 6) beginning at 9 a.m. Fans may purchase tickets in advance via or by calling the Virginia Athletics ticket office (434-924-8821). Fans may also purchase tickets at the Klöckner Stadium box office starting one hour prior to the event. Free parking for both games is available in the John Paul Jones South and West Lots.

Reserved season-ticket members may purchase their seats held during the regular season by calling the Virginia Athletics ticket office. Reserved tickets will be held until 5 p.m. on Monday before being released to the public.


  • The Cavaliers are set to make their 28th consecutive appearance in the NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Championship
  • The Cavaliers earn their highest seed in the NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Championship since 2008 when the team earned the No. 4 seed
  • Virginia will host first and second round matchups for the first time since 2019 when the Cavaliers advanced past Navy earning a place in the NCAA quarterfinals.
  • Virginia will make its 36th overall appearance in the NCAA tournament and owns a 38-30 overall record in the competition
  • The Cavaliers have been crowned NCAA champions three times (1991, 1993, 2004)
  • Virginia will match up with LIU for the first time in program history