CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Five Virginia men’s lacrosse players in Cole Kastner (second team), Connor Shellenberger (second team), Chase Yager (second team), Griffin Schutz (third team) and Payton Cormier (honorable mention) have been tabbed All-Americans according to Inside Lacrosse, the organization announced Sunday night (May 12).

Thursday’s announcement marks Kastner’s second career Inside Lacrosse second-team honor, while Schutz and Yager earned their first career All-American nods by Inside Lacrosse.

Inside Lacrosse’s Media All-America list was voted on by media members who vote in the weekly Inside Lacrosse media poll. Votes were tabulated and sorted into three teams, with remaining players who received a significant share of votes added to the honorable mention list. Voting was completed after the conference tournaments and before the NCAA First Round.

Up next, the sixth-seeded Cavaliers (11-5) take on No. 3 seed Johns Hopkins (11-4) in the NCAA Tournament Quarterfinals on Sunday (May 19) on the campus of Towson University. Opening faceoff from Johnny Unitas Stadium is set for 2:30 p.m. on ESPNU.

First Team

A              Brennan O’Neill, Duke
A              Matt Brandau, Yale
A              CJ Kirst, Cornell
M             Evan Plunkett, Army
M             Mikey Weisshaar, Towson
M             Shane Knobloch, Rutgers
FO           Will Coletti, Army
SSDM     Beau Pederson, Michigan
SSDM     Ben Ramsey, Notre Dame
LSM        Jake Piseno, UAlbany
D             Ajax Zappitello, Maryland
D             Scott Smith, Johns Hopkins
D             Brendan Lavelle, Penn
G             Liam Entenmann, Notre Dame

Second Team
A               Connor Shellenberger, Virginia
A               Pat Kavanagh, Notre Dame
A               TJ Malone, Penn State
M              Jake Stevens, Syracuse
M              Andrew McAdorey, Duke
M              Devon McLane, Notre Dame
FO            Justin Wietfeldt, Michigan
SSDM      Grant Haus, Penn State
SSDM      Chase Yager, Virginia
LSM         Stephen Zupicich, Villanova
D              Kenny Brower, Duke
D              Cole Kastner, Virginia
D              Billy Dwan, Syracuse
G              Emmet Carroll, Penn

Third Team
A              Joey Spallina, Syracuse
A              Sam King, Harvard
A              Chris Kavanagh, Notre Dame
M             Alexander Vardaro, Georgetown
M             Griffin Schutz, Virginia
M             Eric Dobson, Notre Dame
FO           Alec Stathakis, Denver
SSDM     Dylan Hess, Georgetown
SSDM     Brett Martin, Johns Hopkins
LSM        Will Donovan, Notre Dame
D              Colby Barsz, Towson
D              Shawn Lyght, Notre Dame
D              AJ Pilate, Army
D              Mason Woodward, Marquette
G              Jack Fracyon, Penn State

Honorable Mention
A               Michael Boehm, Michigan
A               Payton Cormier, Virginia
A               Louis Perfetto, Boston U
A               Coulter Mackesy, Princeton
A               Jacob Angelus, Johns Hopkins
A               Nick DeMaio, Towson
A               Garrett Degnon, Johns Hopkins
A               Michael Long, Cornell
A               Dalton Young, Richmond
A               Brayden Mayea, High Point
M             Matt Collison, Johns Hopkins
M             Max Krevsky, Yale
M             Jordan Faison , Notre Dame
M             Jacob Morin, Army
M             Michael Leo, Syracuse
M             Hunter Drouin, Colgate
M             Chad Palumbo, Princeton
M             Jake Cates, Boston U
M             Ryan Donnery , Quinnipiac
FO           Nathan Laliberte, Bryant
FO           Mason Kohn, Syracuse
FO           Will Lynch, Notre Dame
FO           Luke Wierman, Maryland
FO           Machado Rodriguez, Yale
FO           Brady Wambach, North Carolina
FO           Jake Naso, Duke
SSDM   Tucker Garrity, Jacksonville
SSDM   Jackson Peters, Navy
SSDM   Jack Pilling, Richmond
SSDM   Reece Potter, Towson
SSDM   Carter Rice, Syracuse
SSDM   Aidan Maguire, Duke
SSDM   Casey Wilson, Denver
SSDM   Patrick Hackler, Yale
LSM       Roy Meyer, Boston U
LSM       Tyler Carpenter, Duke
LSM       Max Yates, Colgate
D              Richard Checo, Lehigh
D              Colin Mulshine, Princeton
D              Marcus Hudgins, Ohio State
D              Alex Ross, Penn State
D              Chris Conlin    Notre Dame
D              Jackson Bonitz , Navy
D              Jimmy Freehill, Denver
D              Ty Banks, Georgetown
D              Levi Verch, Saint Joseph’s
D              Michael Bath, Princeton
D              Nikko DiPonio, Utah
G              Will Mark, Syracuse
G              Mike Gianforcaro, Princeton
G              Zach Vigue, Richmond
G              Chayse Ierlan, Johns Hopkins