CLEMSON, S.C. – No. 3 Virginia won all five grand finals to claim its 11th consecutive ACC Rowing championship Saturday (May 15) morning on Lake Hartwell at Clemson.

Virginia finished with 99 points followed by Duke (84), Syracuse (81), Clemson (63), Notre Dame (54), Miami (40), Louisville (29), Boston College (24) and North Carolina (19).

The Cavaliers have won 20 of the 21 ACC championship regattas and 82 of the 90 championship races.

“I am so proud of these kids,” head coach Kevin Sauer said. “We’ve all been through a lot, but the resilience of these kids, everybody, shows a lot. I’m just so proud of our team, this staff and program. It’s even more emotional this year to win this thing.”

UVA’s Third Varsity Eight started the grand finals by defeating runner-up Duke by over six seconds, 7:01.449-7:07.461.

The UVA Second Varsity Four rallied for impressive win, defeating second-place Syracuse 7:40.481-7:43.991. Duke finished third at 7:44.505.

UVA’s Varsity Four (7:25.204) outraced Duke (7:34.402) and Syracuse (7:36.312) for the ACC title.

 The Cavaliers’ Second Varsity Eight held off Syracuse 6:34.586-6:36.454 in a close race.

In the premier race of the championship, Virginia’s Varsity Eight secured the team title by defeating runner-up Duke 6:25.552-6:30.266 for its 11th straight win at the ACC championships.

UVA’s Varsity Eight was named ACC Crew of the Year and Sauer was named ACC Coach of the Year for the 13th time.

Sophia Kershner (Palmyra, Va.), Katy Flynn (Churchville, N.Y.), Grace Comerford (Wyndmoor, Pa.) and Colette Glass (Tampa, Fla.) were named to the All-ACC Rowing first team. Tessa Otting (Evanston, Ill.) was a second-team selection.

The Cavaliers return to action at the NCAA Rowing Championship on May 28-30 in Sarasota, Fla. The NCAA DI Rowing Selection Show is set for Tuesday, May 18 on

ACC Crew of the Year – Varsity Eight, Virginia
ACC Coach of the Year – Kevin Sauer, Virginia
ACC Freshman of the Year – Rachel Twitty, Clemson

All-ACC Rowing First Team
Colette Glass, Virginia (coxswain)
Sophia Kershner, Virginia
Katy Flynn, Virginia
Grace Comerford, Virginia
Cate Schrieber, Clemson
Sydney Johnson, Duke
Gabby Salvati, Duke
Adelaide Lammers, Notre Dame
Megan Varcoe, Syracuse

All-ACC Rowing Second Team
Tara Fagan, Duke (coxswain)
Carmen Ewing, Boston College
Rachel Twitty, Clemson
McKenzie Sweeney, Louisville
Marilou Chardin, Miami
Lauren Ferner, North Carolina
Marielle Corbett, Notre Dame
Lucy Pearce, Syracuse
Tessa Otting, Virginia

2021 ACC Rowing Championship Results

Third Varsity Eight, Petite Final
1. Boston College 7:33.779, 2. North Carolina 7:48.395.

Third Varsity Eight, Grand Final
1. Virginia, 7:01.449, 2. Duke, 7:07.461, 3. Syracuse, 7:13.449, 4. Clemson, 7:15.525, 5. Notre Dame, 7:18.045, 6. Miami, 7:26.761.

Second Varsity Four, Petite Final
1. Louisville, 8:02.954, 2. Boston College, 8:14.098.

Second Varsity Four, Grand Final
1. Virginia, 7:40.481, 2. Syracuse, 7:43.991, 3. Duke, 7:44.505, 4. Clemson, 7:48.123, 5. Notre Dame, 7:50.443, 6. North Carolina, 8:02.209.

Varsity Four, Petite Final
1. North Carolina, 7:58.097, 2. Miami, 8:07.091, 3. Boston College, 8:22.709.

Varsity Four, Grand Final
1. Virginia, 7:25.204, 2. Duke, 7:34.402, 3. Syracuse, 7:36.312, 4. Clemson, 7:40.186, 5. Notre Dame, 7:42.886, 6. Louisville, 7:50.772.

Second Varsity Eight Petite Final
1. Boston College, 7:00.855, 2. Louisville, 7:04.439, 3. North Carolina, 7:24.849.

Second Varsity Eight Grand Final
1. Virginia, 6:34.586, 2. Syracuse, 6:36.454, 3. Duke, 6:43.776, 4. Notre Dame, 6:51.262, 5. Clemson, 6:51.330, 6. Miami, 6:56.770.

Varsity Eight Petite Final
1. Louisville, 6:48.174, 2. Boston College, 6:49.832, 3. North Carolina, 6:54.992.

Varsity Eight Grand Final
1. Virginia, 6:25.552, 2. Duke, 6:30.226, 3. Syracuse, 6:31.650, 4. Clemson, 6:35.622, 5. Miami, 6:38.878, 6. Notre Dame, 6:41.208.

Virginia Lineups
Varsity Eight: Coxswain Colette Glass, Stroke: Sonja Schlosser, 7: Abbie Bird, 6: Leia Till, 5: Sophia Kershner, 4: Katy Flynn, 3. Cate Porter, 2: Alli Terblanche, Bow: Kate Kelly

Second Varsity Eight: Coxswain Janet Conklin, Stroke: Tessa Otting, 7: Tahne Badenhorst, 6: Jamey Bulloch, 5: Nicola Lawless, 4: Bianka Smeulders, 3: Grace Comerford, 2: Hailey Barnett, Bow: Carrie Warner

Varsity Four: Coxswain ViVi Van Ingen, Stroke: Casey Martin, 3: Maggie Taylor, 2: Lily Jarrett, Bow: Larkin Brown

Second Varsity Four: Coxswain Gabby Grob, Stroke: Ailbhe O’Grady, 3: Beatrice Jones, 2: Lily Bernero, Bow: Brooke Rickert

Third Varsity Eight: Coxswain Zoe Tekeian, Stroke: Casey Reed, 7: Charlotte Quinn, 6: Izzie Bird, 5: Lauren Orr, 4: Parker Cuthbertson, 3: Eva Frohnhofer, 2: Elizabeth Kilgore, Bow: Cameron Bentley