CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia wide receiver Keytaon Thompson was listed on the 27-member 2022 Preseason All-ACC team as an all-purpose player. Preseason honors were determined by a vote of 164 media members, including those who were credentialed for last week’s ACC Football Kickoff in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Quarterback Brennan Armstrong finished tied for fourth in the voting for the ACC Preseason Player of the Year.

Thompson adds to a growing list of preseason accolades. Last week, along with teammate Dontayvion Wicks, was named to the Biletnikoff Watch List. Thompson has also garnered Preseason All-ACC honors from Phil Steele.

In 2021, Thompson led the Cavaliers with 78 receptions and totaled 990 yards, the sixth most in a single season in UVA history. His versatility on the field enabled him to rush for an additional 247 yards and four touchdowns. According to Pro Football Focus, he had the second-best elusive rating (a stat that measures the success and impact of a runner with the ball independently of the blocking) – 175.5 of any non-running back with 20 or more rush attempts

Thompson appeared in all 12 games and made 10 starts in 2021. He finished the year with five-straight games of five or more receptions and finished with three, 100-yard receiving efforts. Thompson took home Third Team All-ACC honors and earned a spot on the ACC All-Academic team for his performance in the classroom.

2022 Preseason All-ACC Football Team
(Total votes in parenthesis)
QB         Devin Leary, NC State (56)
RB         Sean Tucker, Syracuse (125)
RB         Will Shipley, Clemson (112)
WR        Josh Downs, North Carolina (128)
WR        A.T. Perry, Wake Forest (111)
WR        Zay Flowers, Boston College (104)
TE          Will Mallory, Miami (69)
AP         Keytaon Thompson, Virginia (70)
OT         Jordan McFadden, Clemson (127)
OT         Zion Nelson, Miami (82)
OG        Caleb Chandler, Louisville (104)
OG        Christian Mahogany, Boston College (67)
C            Grant Gibson, NC State (90)

DE         Myles Murphy, Clemson (120)
DE         Habakkuk Baldonado, Pitt (54)
DT         Bryan Bresee, Clemson (116)
DT         Calijah Kancey, Pitt (62)
LB          Drake Thomas, NC State (92)
LB          Trenton Simpson, Clemson (82)
LB          Payton Wilson, NC State (60)
CB         Kei’Trel Clark, Louisville (70)
CB         Josh DeBerry, Boston College (65)
S            Jammie Robinson, Florida State (93)
S              Tanner Ingle, NC State (63)

PK         B.T. Potter, Clemson (99)
P            Lou Hedley, Miami (101)
SP          Josh Downs, North Carolina (57)

Preseason Player of the Year
1. Devin Leary, QB, NC State (40)
2. Sam Hartman, QB, Wake Forest (30)
3. Tyler Van Dyke, QB, Miami (21)
4. Bryan Breese, DT, Clemson (14)
4-t. Brennan Armstrong, QB, Virginia (14)
6-t. Malik Cunningham, QB, Louisville (12)]
6-t. Josh Downs, WR, North Carolina (12)
8. Sean Tucker, RB, Syracuse (11)
9. Myles Murphy, DT, Clemson (5)
10. Trenton Simpson, LB, Clemson (3)
11. Jammie Robinson, S, Florida State (2)