CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Nine Virginia men’s lacrosse players have been named All-Americans, Inside Lacrosse announced Wednesday (May 17). The Cavaliers’ nine selections led all Division-I programs nationally.

Thomas McConvey was tabbed a first-team recipient, while Connor Shellenberger and Xander Dickson garnered second-team honors. Grayson Sallade and Cade Saustad were named third-team selections.

Payton Cormier, Petey LaSalla, Evan Zinn and Cole Kastner rounded out the list for the Cavaliers as honorable mentions.

Inside Lacrosse’s Media All-America list was voted on by a dozen media members who vote in the weekly Media Poll. Each voter selected up to four teams of players featuring three attackmen, three midfielders, a face-off specialist, two short-stick defensive midfielders, a long-stick defensive midfielder, three defenders and a goalie. Votes were tabulated and sorted into three teams, with remaining players who received a significant share of votes added to the honorable mention list. Voting was completed after conference tournaments and before the NCAA First Round.

No. 2 seed Virginia (12-3) faces seventh-seeded Georgetown (13-3) in the NCAA Tournament Quarterfinals on Saturday (May 20). Opening faceoff from Tom & Mary Casey Stadium in Albany, New York is set for noon on ESPNU.

Inside Lacrosse Media All-Americans

First Team

A – Brennan O’Neill, Duke

A – CJ Kirst, Cornell

A – Pat Kavanagh, Notre Dame

A/M – Matt Campbell, Villanova

M – Sam Handley, Penn

M – Thomas McConvey, Virginia

FO – Jake Naso, Duke

SSDM – Payton Rezanka, Loyola

SSDM – Chet Comizio, Villanova

LSM – Roy Meyer, Boston U

D – Gavin Adler, Cornell

D – Brett Makar, Maryland

D – Owen Grant, Delaware

G – Liam Entenmann, Notre Dame


Second Team

A – Connor Shellenberger, Virginia

A – Xander Dickson, Virginia

A – Coulter Mackesy, Princeton

M – Eric Dobson, Notre Dame

M – Alexander Vardaro, Princeton

M – Brian Tevlin, Notre Dame

FO – Mike Sisselberger, Lehigh

SSDM – Connor Maher, North Carolina

SSDM – Beau Pederson, Princeton

LSM – Ethan Rall, Rutgers

D – Will Bowen, Georgetown

D – Ajax Zappitello, Maryland

D – Kenny Brower, Duke

G – Jack Fracyon, Penn State


Third Team

A – Tucker Dordevic, Georgetown

A – Tye Kurtz, Delaware

A – Matt Brandau, Yale

M – Graham Bundy, Jr., Georgetown

M – Matt Traynor, Penn State

M – Shane Knobloch, Rutgers

FO – Luke Wierman, Maryland

SSDM – Piper Bond, Penn

SSDM – Grayson Sallade, Virginia

LSM – John Geppert, Maryland

D – Chris Fake, Notre Dame

D – Cade Saustad, Virginia

D – Alex Mazzone, Johns Hopkins

G – Will Mark, Syracuse


Honorable Mention

A – Payton Cormier, Virginia

A – Joey Spallina, Syracuse

A – Michael Boehm, Michigan

A – Chris Kavanagh, Notre Dame

A – Chris Lyons, Yale

A – Andrew McAdorey, Duke

A – TJ Malone, Penn State

A – Dyson Williams, Duke

A – Reese Burek, Army

A – Vince D’Alto, Boston U

A – Scott Cole, Lehigh

A – Kyle Playsted, Bellarmine

A/M – Evan James, Loyola

A/M – Brian Minicus, Georgetown

A/M – Thomas Greenblatt, Binghamton

M – Jake Stevens, Princeton

M – Evan Plunkett, Army

M – Garrett Leadmon, Duke

M – Adam Poitras, Loyola

M – Austin Fraser, Villanova

M – Jacob Morin, Army

FO – Will Coletti, Army

FO – Zach Cole, Saint Joseph’s

FO – Justin Wietfeldt, Michigan

FO – Alec Stathakis, Denver

FO – Petey LaSalla, Virginia

FO – Tommy Burke, Vermont

SSDM – Dante Trader, Jr., Maryland

SSDM – Grant Haus, Penn State

SSDM – Brett Martin, Johns Hopkins

SSDM – Evan Zinn, Virginia

LSM – Jacob Piseno, UAlbany

LSM – Richard Checo, Lehigh

LSM – Saam Olexo, Syracuse

LSM – Tyler Carpenter, Duke

D – Cole Kastner, Virginia

D – Wilson Stephenson, Duke

D – AJ Pilate, Army

D – Jack Posey, Penn State

D – Mason Woodward, Marquette

D – Scott Smith, Johns Hopkins

D – Troy Hettinger, Jacksonville

D – Jackson Bonitz, Navy

D – Paul Barton, North Carolina

G – Mike Gianforcaro, Princeton

G – Matt Knote, UMass

G – Knox Dent, Army