CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia shortstop Griff O’Ferrall received an official invite to USA Baseball Collegiate National Team training camp. He is the second Cavalier, joining classmate and fellow Richmond area native Jay Woolfolk, invited to this year’s camp.

O’Ferrall, a semifinalist for the Brooks Wallace Award, is a catalyst on a UVA offense ranked in the No. 1 hitting offense in the country. The shortstop has started all 115 games at shortstop for Virginia the past two seasons. He’s having a breakout sophomore campaign batting .393 with 92 hits, 69 runs scored, 17 doubles, two triples and 36 RBI. He also has swiped 16 bases in 18 attempts. His .393 average is the second highest in the ACC.

A freshman All-American and an All-Freshman team honoree last season, O’Ferrall followed up with a First Team All-ACC selection in 2023. His 69 runs scored are the second most in single season in program history. He has racked up 92 hits on the year, tied for the third-most ever by a Cavalier in a single season.

The USA Baseball Collegiate National Team Training Camp will feature 56 of the premier non-draft eligible college players for a five-game Stars vs. Stripes intrasquad series in North Carolina from June 25-29. USA Baseball will name a final, 26-man Collegiate National Team roster after Training Camp that will represent the United States in friendship series against Chinese Taipei and Japan from June 30-July 12.

All five Training Camp games will be played at the USA Baseball National Training Complex in Cary, North Carolina. The series begins on June 25 at 3 p.m. ET, with four games following over the next four days. Game two will be on June 26 at 6 p.m. ET, game three on June 27 at 7 p.m. ET, game four on June 28 at 6 p.m. ET, and the series will conclude with game five on June 29 at 11 a.m. ET.

Cavaliers on the USA Baseball Collegiate National Team

Bill Narleski INF 1986
Seth Greisinger P 1996
Ryan Zimmerman INF 2004
Sean Doolittle INF/P 2005
Mark Reynolds INF 2006
Jacob Thompson P 2007
Branden Kline P 2011
Matt Thaiss C 2015
Jake McCarthy OF 2017
Andrew Abbott LHP 2019
Nate Savino LHP 2021
Kyle Teel C/UTL 2021
Matt Wyatt RHP 2021