CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The Atlantic Coast Conference announced Monday (June 24) that Ethan Dabbs of the Virginia track & field program has been named the ACC Scholar Athlete of the Year leading an All-ACC Academic Team consisting of 37 cavalier men and women.

The higher education major continues to add to his list of honors following another All-American campaign in the javelin. Dabbs became the first ever competitor to win four consecutive ACC men’s javelin titles and finished as the runner-up at the NCAA Championships. His season-best mark of 80.82 meters won the Virginia Challenge setting a meet and facility record. He was named ACC Field Performer of the Year and USTFCCCA Southeast Regional Field Athlete of the Year.

Dabbs becomes the second-ever Cavalier to win the award following the men’s outdoor track & field season joining Filip Mihaljevic (2017). Virginia swept Men’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors for ACC track and field in 2022-23 as Owayne Owens was recognized for the indoor season.

The Cavaliers placed a total of 37 student athletes (20 women, 17 men) on the All-ACC Academic teams, the fourth most of any ACC program.

Academic requirements for selection to the team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. In addition, student-athletes must have competed in the ACC Outdoor Track and Field Championships and/or the NCAA Outdoor Championships during the most recent season.

Women’s All-Academic Selections (20)
Emily Alexandru, Virginia, Sociology
Ashley Anumba, Virginia, Law
Sophie Atkinson, Virginia, Economics
Margot Appleton, Virginia, Cognitive Science
Kayla Bonnick, Virginia, Speech Communication
Trina Barcarola, Virginia, Youth and Social Innovation
Hanne Borstlap, Virginia, Environmental Science
Abby Comella, Virginia, Foreign Affairs
Addison Cox, Virginia, Kinesiology
Caroline Dannenbaum, Virginia, Commerce
Maya Maloney, Virginia, Economics
Janae Profit, Virginia, Undeclared
Samantha Romano, Virginia, Undeclared
Alahna Sabbakhan, Virginia, Kinesiology
Kaiya Saunders, Virginia, Aerospace Engineering
Jada Seaman, Virginia, Commerce
Keara Seasholtz, Virginia, Environmental Thought and Practice
Esther Seeland, Virginia, Kinesiology
Alex Still, Virginia, Higher Education
Anna Workman, Virginia, Biomedical Engineering

Men’s All-Academic Selections (17)
Rohann Asfaw, Virginia, Educational Psychology
Liam Bellamy, Virginia, Commerce
Tom Corel, Virginia, Leadership & Public Policy
Ethan Dabbs, Virginia, Higher Education
Nigel Davis, Virginia, Higher Education
Justin Diehl, Virginia, Commerce (MS)
Peter Djan, Virginia, Computer Science
Jack Eliason, Virginia, American Studies
Jacob Hunter, Virginia, Environmental Thought & Practice
Derek Johnson, Virginia, Computer Science
Gary Martin, Virginia, Undeclared
Nate Mountain, Virginia, Undeclared
Elby Omohundro, Virginia, Leadership & Public Policy
Owayne Owens, Virginia, Leadership & Public Policy
Wes Porter, Virginia, Commerce
Justin Rogers, Virginia, Kinesiology
Alex Sherman, Virginia, Applied Statistics