CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Junior Gretchen Walsh (Nashville, Tenn.) has been named the ACC Women’s Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Virginia had 35 student-athletes selected to the ACC All-Academic Teams, the league office announced on Wednesday (April 10).

It marked the fifth consecutive year a Cavalier has been selected for the award. Kate Douglass was named the ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year in 2022 and 2023 and Paige Madden received the honor in 2020 and 2021.

Walsh helped UVA to its fourth consecutive NCAA title and fifth consecutive ACC championship this season. She was recognized by the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America’s (CSCAA) as its Division I Women’s Swimmer of the Year and she was the Most Valuable Swimmer at the 2024 ACC Championships.

At the NCAAs, Walsh won three individual events (50 free, 100 free, 100 fly) and set the fastest times ever in those races. She also swam legs on all four of UVA’s championship replays teams – 200 free relay, 400 free relay, 200 medley relay and 400 medley relay.

At the ACC Championships, Walsh won the 50 free, 100 free, 100 fly and was a part of UVA’s victorious relay teams in the 400 free relay, 400 medley relay, 800 free relay, 200 free relay.

Walsh leads a group of 19 from the Virginia women’s swimming & diving team that were selected to the ACC All-Academic Team. That list includes:
Ella Bathurst, Virginia, Jr., Commerce
Izzy Bradley, Virginia, So., Youth & Social Innovation
Maddie Donohoe, Virginia, Gr., Counselor Education
Cavan Gormsen, Virginia, Fr., Arts & Sciences
Maddy Grosz, Virginia, Sr., Public Policy & Leadership
Abby Harter, Virginia, Sr., Kinesiology
Tess Howley, Virginia, Fr., Arts & Sciences
Elizabeth Kaye, Virginia, Jr., Media Studies
Amanda Leizman, Virginia, Sr., Public Policy & Leadership
Ella Nelson, Virginia, Gr., Commerce
Jasmine Nocentini, Virginia, Gr., Commerce
Carly Novelline, Virginia, So., Commerce
Maxine Parker, Virginia, Sr., Applied Statistics
Maggie Schalow, Virginia, Fr., Arts & Sciences
Zoe Skirboll, Virginia, So., Media Studies
Reilly Tiltmann, Virginia, Jr., Kinesiology
Alex Walsh, Virginia, Sr., Computer Science
Gretchen Walsh, Virginia, Jr., Commerce
Emma Weber, Virginia, So., Public Policy & Leadership

The UVA men’s swimming & diving team had 16 student-athletes earn the recognition:
Hayden Bellotti, Virginia, Fr., Arts & Sciences
Colin Bitz, Virginia, Jr., Computer Science
Connor Boyle, Virginia, Jr., Computer Science
Matt Brownstead, Virginia, Sr., Commerce
Will Cole, Virginia, Sr., Foreign Affairs
Tim Connery, Virginia, Jr., American Studies
Matthew Heilman, Virginia, So., Commerce
Tanner Hering, Virginia, Sr., Computer Science
August Lamb, Virginia,   Jr., Data Science
Simon Lins, Virginia, Fr., Arts & Sciences
Oliver Mills, Virginia, Sr., Computer Science
Sam O’Brien, Virginia, Jr., Psychology
Nick Sanders, Virginia, Jr., Biology
Sebastien Sergile, Virginia, So., Commerce
Matt Styczen, Virginia, Jr., Economics
Dean Treanor, Virginia, Fr., Arts & Sciences